Pumpkin Protein Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Healthy and delicious! Great way to get protein while on the go. Even my kids love these cookies. I changed just a few things about the original recipe: First, I doubled the entire recipe - the single batch seemed to make hardly at all. Second, I added: 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla another 1/2 cup of Splenda 2 Tbsp of honey 2 additional egg whites Third, I exchanged: Canola Oil for 1 cup sugarfree applesauce Soy flour for 4 scoops of protein powder This all adjusted the baking time. I baked at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. The original recipe created a very dry cookie. The modifications that I incorporated created a more moist and tastier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking in Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Tasty breakfast cookies! I used 1 cup fresh pumpkin and added cinnamon & some allspice to that as well, no water or oil. I added about 1/2 tsp of allspice (piment is the name here) and about 1/8 of ground clove in addition to the recommended spices. Did add the flaxseed and used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I also had to cook them longer than 5 mins (8-10)but I think it was b/c of the fresh pumpkin being so moist. Very good though! I've already had 3 tonight!! Oh! Also put in walnuts. ***True test of goodness: Husband approved! He is a big health nut and doesn't like/eat anything with too much sugar in it. He LOVED them! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I’ve made these a couple of times. I find the splenda a little overpowering, so used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup splenda. Also I added about 1/4 cup more pumpkin to make it easier to mix. They are pretty good. I’ve also tried them with chocolate chips and chopped nuts and liked them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
these are my favorte cookies! i even kinda had fun making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made some changes to this recipe, but it was delicious. I used 1/2 c regular sugar and 1/4 c splenda brown sugar. I used chocolate soy powder instead of soy flour. I also used maple syrup instead of molasses, and applesauce instead of splenda. I added craisins, carmel swirled chocolate chips and some bran (just to use up what was in the kitchen). they were delicious anyways!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I wanted to comment on WANKO's comments that baking w protein powder "destroys" the protein... this is UNTRUE - it denatures it (changes the structure of the protein) but the amino acids remain the same... and baking is a better form of cooking w protein powder... as opposed to frying or other high heat methods...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I'm really surprised at former reviewers who thought these cookies had great flavor. In my experience they're quite bland. I substituted brown sugar for the molasses and Splenda. Mine took about 2 minutes longer to bake than the recipe called for, but once they cooled they had a nice, cakey texture. Hopefully they'll be better tomorrow, but I doubt I'll make these again. ***On reflection, these cookies weren't as bad as I originally thought. They definitely improved after a day or two. My boyfriend thought they were a little weird, but he ate half of them in one night. His parents liked them and said it was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cookies. And, of course, this was intended as a breakfast cookie, not a sugary dessert. I may make this again and tweak the spices a bit, or make them the same way and eat them with apple cider, since the combination of the two wasn't half bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I left out the oil and put in 1/4c of honey instead of splenda. Also added 1.5 tsp of cinammon and about .5 more of nutmeg. and 1/4c more oatmeal... It's more like a sweet thick oatmeal bread... It does really cook in the 5 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My husband is crazy about these cookies! He has them for breakfast nearly every morning. They freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
recipe turned out great! My husband liked them, and they are so healthy! Good healthy treat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States