Pumpkin Polenta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Call this like it is--polenta is cornmeal, so I used 2 cups of cornmeal! I changed the brown sugar to 1/4 cup agave syrup, and instead of eggs and egg whites, I just used 4 eggs. I didn't know whether to expect something like Indian pudding or a pumpkin cornbread; but I think it was like a combination of the two. With whipped cream, this could easily be a dessert, as it is, it's like cornbread that. goes with soup! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I loved it. Made a 1/2 recipe, and used two eggs instead of the egg whites. Also used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg and cloves, cornmeal for the polenta, light sour cream for yogurt, and splenda instead of brown sugar. Very nice pumpkin flavored cornbread without being too sweet or too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Used mashed fresh sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin and cut cloves back to 1/2 tsp. Absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My husband, who is not gluten-free like I am, loves this! He eats it broken up with milk poured on it like cush. 2 cups of pumpkin~1 can. I use 4 whole eggs instead of any whites, 1/2 cp agave for brown sugar, reduce the cloves to 3/4 tsp and prepare from beginning to end in the blender. Easy, smells wonderful, tasty and he doesn't realize how healthy he is eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Makes excellent muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe marries some of my favourite flavours! Some reviewers seem to have an issue with the texture, which may come from some confusion over the word 'polenta.' In many places not North America, polenta is the name for plain, dry cornmeal. In other countries (like Canada, where I am from) polenta is a dish made from boiling yellow cornmeal; you can buy it precooked in tubes. If you use the precooked stuff, this recipe will come out a little different: imagine making oatmeal cookies with oat porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The problem with this recipe isn't the baking soda or salt it's the cloves. Decrease the cloves or change it to pumpkin pie spice (2 t) instead of the other spices, and it's GREAT!!!! You can change the sugar to Splenda or fructose, change the yogurt to fat free yogurt or sour cream, and this recipe fits the weight watchers core plan! Very good, moist pumpkin corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe is actually a good jumping-off point. I adjusted a few things... reduced the salt/baking soda by half, and added 1/2 c Splenda for some extra sweetness. I didnt have all the individual spices on hand, so I just used pumpkin pie spice (1 1/2 tsp). I didn't use store-bought polenta, but instead made my own homemade. And while I had to let it bake for longer than 45 mins (total time of 1 1/2 hours), it was a fantastic flavor and really great for my low-calorie/low-fat lifestyle. I can see a lot of things to do with this recipe, but it is a great start. Thanks for sharing your idea! Jules
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I felt that this recipe was a solid "ok". I substituted pumpkin pie spice, but found the end result on the bland side. The texture was the more problematic part for me; it was like moist cornbread, but not in an entirely pleasant way. The cake did rise nicely, which I wasn't expecting. I wish I could figure out what tweaks I could do to make this more to my liking. On the up side, I needed to use up a bunch of polenta, which this did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Too bland :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States