Pumpkin Pineapple Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just made this recipe for my family. My family was worried cause there was no meat but it tasted amazing and was nice and hearty. We did use some sour cream along with the shredded cheese in our individual bowls. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I really like how these flavors combined and will be making it again. I didn't have carrots or mushrooms, and I subbed chicken broth for the veggie broth since I was adding chicken as suggested. I think I might try to make it spicier next time, or add more pineapple. I served it just as soup, but over jasmin rice, tortilla chips, or tortillas seems like it'd be a good combo. **oh, i just threw it all in the crockpot (with thawed chicken on the bottom) since I needed fast and easy. 6.5 hours on low was perfect and then I shredded the chicken and stirred it back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was really excited to try this chili, and while the ingredients were so diverse it had a 5 star rating so I thought it would be awesome. Unfortunately for me, I'm not sure if this combination of things hit the mark. I really did not like the pineapple in this dish...it was a little bizarre & if I made it again I would without a doubt omit it! I like meat in my chili so I added some ground turkey breast. Just as other reviewers said, it does turn out more of a soup than a chili. It definitely was different, and I recommend giving it a try based on all the other positive reviews....I guess it's just a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was such a huge hit with my family -- even the picky eaters loved it, which is surprising because the ingredients seem so odd at first glance. "Sensational" was the word my wife used. Had to use cilantro from a spice jar, since fresh was unavailable. Carrots are mentioned in the ingredients list but not in the directions, so I roasted them with the pineapple and corn. Just wondering . . . since you're roasting stuff anyway, why not roast the onions, too? Something to experiment with next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Loved this recipe! I left out the mushrooms and used great northern beans because I was out of black beans. Amazing with a squirt of Siracha sauce if you like a little heat. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShotsyGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We tried this tonight. Tastes great. Different from the norm, but really good! I'd probably pick it over traditional, spicy chili and a lot of the white chicken chilis I've tried. It's definitely not spicy if that's what you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is really good. Excellent combination of flavors. I actually came across this by accident when I planned on grilling but there was bad weather and had to come up with another way to use all the onions, mushrooms, bell peppers, and pineapple. I can't believe I happened to have all the ingredients on hand. If you like chili and/or pumpkin even a little bit you have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was fantastic! I love the unique medley of ingredients. I have been fighting a cold and with the colorful rainbow of veggies I should be better in no time! I have never used pumpkin puree in chili but I think it gives a beautiful velvety touch along with the coconut milk. I did add a red pepper and pretty much doubled the recipe. I will DEF make this again and tweek a bit. Maybe a hint of lime would be great. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Love this chili!! I used fresh corn cut off the cob and roasted it with the pineapple. I added 2 more cans of beans as chili to me isn't chili with out more beans than other veggies. Might add a little more coconut milk next time. We will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I omitted the mushrooms and forgot the coconut milk. It tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States