Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I changed a few things in this recipe that I thought made it better. They are: Used light brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Replaced the corn syrup with 1 tablespoon of molasses and 1 tablespoon of honey. Added 1/8 teaspoon of allspice and 1/8 teaspoon of cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was my first time making pumpkin pie and for any first timers YES, the batter is very runny but don't worry it will work! Wish I knew this before hand cause I started to freak out a bit pouring the batter into the pie crusts. Best pumpkin pie flavor I have ever tasted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This recipe made a fabulously thick pumpkin pie. It was a hit during Thanksgiving and I didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe! The recipe did not state whether it was a deep dish or regular 9" pie shell. I used a regular 9" and had a lot left over and my pie spilled over as I transferred it into the oven making a big mess as it spilled onto the cookie sheet and later burned filling my kitchen with smoke and setting off the smoke alarms!! I did substitute the white sugar with light brown and the light corn syrup with molasses as one of the other reviewers suggested. I added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and ground cloves. The pie was delicious. The pumpkin filling is indeed very thin and I wondered if it would thicken. It did beautifully. My baking time was exactly as the recipe called for. Don't forget to turn your oven down to 325 after 10 minutes, and cover the edges of the crust with foil. I forgot this step and my edges burned. I learned a lot from baking my first homemade pumpkin pie in many years. I have enough fresh pumpkin frozen for 10 more pies. I'm sure the next one will be much improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I have never wrote a review before. This flavor/taste of this pie is fantastic. However the cooking time is completely off. I had to cook it for a total of 75 minutes. I will definitely make this again! I hope my family enjoys it as well - Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great recipe. I made it just the way it was written. I did need to bake it almost twice the amount of time as stated. I'm not sure why being that I'm not in a high altitude and have a fairly new oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've never been crazy about pumpkin pie, but this recipe has turned me into a fanatic. This will be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Being a first-time pie maker, I was really surprised at how well this recipe came out! I was nervous at how runny it was when I poured it in my deep dish crust, but it came out wonderfully! It took me about an hour and a half to bake it all together, but I might have overcooked it a little. Good thing I tried it out today so I can get it spot on for Thanksgiving. I think I will try the foil over the crust next time and add a little bit more spices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this in a 9" Pillsbury frozen standard pie crust. There was way too much filling. I probably froze an amount equal to what was used. Next time, I am going to try a deep dish as the pie didn't seem that tall. I did 1/2 c white sugar & 1/4c brown sugar. My baking time was also longer (about 15-20 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe makes a fabulous pie. I have made more than a few pumpkin pies but never one that tastes this good. The only thing I changed was using brown sugar instead of white. The taste and texture of this pie almost made me swoon and I can't stop picking at it. Shoot, it hardly needs whip cream it is so good. I would like to offer a word of baking advice: it's a CUSTARD and as such the best test for doneness is, after an hour in the oven, I jiggle it. Just like I would a cheesecake or creme brulee. It should be set around the outside and have a little jiggle in the middle. If you bake it until it doesn't move, the pumpkin pie tastes dry and gets those really ugly cracks in the top. It should be smooth, creamy and silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States