Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was my first pie experience. I was a little nervous about how runny the batter was but it turned out great. The cooking time was way off and the knife never actually came out clean. After 60 minutes it started bubbling so I took it out and it seemed to set nice when cooling. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very tasty, but too runny in the center. Even after I gave it 24 hours, the center was a runny mess. I think I'd try a little more flour or a little less evaporated milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Being a first-time pie maker, I was really surprised at how well this recipe came out! I was nervous at how runny it was when I poured it in my deep dish crust, but it came out wonderfully! It took me about an hour and a half to bake it all together, but I might have overcooked it a little. Good thing I tried it out today so I can get it spot on for Thanksgiving. I think I will try the foil over the crust next time and add a little bit more spices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was awesome. I used a real pumpkin and just pureed it in the food processor. So easy. Then I used Pie Crust III, which made it even easier. I think I cooked it a little too long though. It was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious recipe~ I replaced the corn syrup with molasses as suggested, and also did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I had to cook it for double the time stated. It is a perfect recipe, and will be my new stand by for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
So far, I've had to re-time my pie twice after the first 30 minutes, as the center has not set. It's been about an hour since put the sucker in and still hardly set. The ingredients were listed out of order, so if you are one to go by ingredients alone, you're going to be SOL. If I were to re-write the recipe, I'd say put the pan with the crust on a foil lined pan on the middle rack of your oven AND THEN pour in the filling. This will prevent the mess I've read in other reviewers. At this point, be sure to cover the entire pie with a length of foil, as the high sugar/butter content in the crust and filling will make this whole thing prone to burning. As far as the baking time... That's still up in the air. I don't know how everybody else got such "superb" results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
An all around easy recipe to follow. I made the same modifications that Brandiren did, and I agree that they made it better. Making the triple recipe in two pies took about 60 minutes at the 325F step for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
It's the best pumpkin pie recipe I ever made and so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is the first time I've ever made pumpkin pie and this recipe was amazing! I didn't change a thing as far as the ingredients. It was QUITE runny at first, so you have to be careful when you place it in the oven. Also, I had to bake it for an extra 40 minutes at the end. Other than that, it was fabulous. My husband loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Pumpkin pie is my favorite pie of all pies and this recipe is a keeper. It does need a deep dish crust and definitely has to cook much longer than stated in the recipe. After reducing the oven temperature, I have to cook it another hour. Rather than testing doneness with a knife, I give the pie a little shake to make sure it is set. The knife test leaves a gash in an otherwise beautiful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States