Pumpkin Pie (Wheat-Free, Egg-Free, and Dairy-Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great!!! I used regular milk (less than called for), less spices, less sugar, molasses instead of corn syrup. Baked with no crust for 30, topped with an apple crisp topping, finished baking. It was delicious warm and cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StaceyRae13
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was intimidated since other allergen free pumpkin pies involved tofu...ack, not in my pie! But this recipe had no tofu and it tasted like normal pumpkin pie. We do not have a gluten problem in our house so I did use my preferred crust, but used the filling and it was really, really good. It came out a little bit denser than I was expecting so may try a wee bit less cornstarch next time, and I may also try ditching the crust, putting the filling in souffle ramekins and then sprinkling gingerbread cookies on top of it. Amazingly good allergen free option, I highly recommend. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good recipe. My husband did not even know the difference between this one and my other pumpkin pie. The only change I will try is changing the spices to my favorite pumpkin recipe. I thought there was to much spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My 7 year old is allergic to milk and eggs, but loves pumpkin pie. This was a GREAT alternative for him and he LOVED it!! I used a Pillsbury crust since we don't have a gluten issue, but it turned out perfectly! Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Anniebb, I've found the potato starch will be make the dough denser and stickier, while potato flour will make dough less dense, a little less sticky. It really depends what you are making. But if you are making pie crust, a combo of rice, tapioca and potato flour or starch works fine. For example, if you use in potato starch in chocolate chip cookies it makes a dense, cake-like cookie. I use sorghum, rice and tapioca for cookies now. It makes a texture similar to the traditional "toll house cookie." Hope this help. Happy Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica P.
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This pie was baked with love for my 3 yr old with Food Allergies. :) But... I'm so terrible at following rules (and recipes), so I DID do a little of my own stuff with this recipe, but this recipe was what our pie was based on. First of all, I used a store bought pie crust. (I was saving time because I was also baking 4 other pies besides this one). Anyway, I basically followed the instructions in this recipe except I used a little aunt jemima syrup instead of the dark corn syrup (didn't have it) and I used pumpkin pie spice with a bunch of extra cinnamon just until I thought it tasted good. Also, I added a little extra sugar (white) until I got it sweet enough to suit me... Looked delicious, tasted even more delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free and Soy Free for my daughter with multiple food allergies and she LOVED it! I used Almond Milk with a touch of vanilla added, in place of the soy creamer. Thank you for a great CRUST RECIPE that I plan to use for all my Pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
As long as you let the pie chill overnight it is fabulous! It has a slightly different texture than normal pumpkin pie, but still very good. I only used the pie filling recipe and put it in my own crust. I used canned coconut milk instead of soy, sucanat instead of brown sugar and pure maple syrup instead of corn syrup. This is the best allergy friendly pumpkin pie I have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My first ever gluten-free (vegan) pie - SUPER EASY and YUMMY! I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I mostly followed the recipe with the following exceptions: instead of ½ tsp ground ginger I only used a dash and added ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice; instead of canned pumpkin I used freshly baked & finely processed pumpkin – 2 cups as called for; and I was unable to find soy creamer at the store, so I used coffee-mate French vanilla creamer instead. Bake the crust 15 minutes – no more, no less. Follow directions exactly for the crust and it will turn out amazing – flakier than a regular (gluten) crust and with WAY more flavor. Since I was using a stone pie plate, I had already planned to bake the pie more than 60 minutes. My knife inserted 1 inch from the crust didn’t come out clean after an hour, so I didn’t feel bad leaving it in for 30 more minutes. I didn’t use the knife test again at the end of 90 minutes because if that wasn’t long enough, then there was something I did wrong with the recipe. Don’t let the appearance fool you – It won’t look done in the middle, but at the end of 90 minutes this pie was perfectly cooked. After I let it cool on a cooling rack on the counter for 2 hours, it was indeed cooked in the middle. I made it the day before Thanksgiving so it sat in the refrigerator overnight. To serve I simply reheated in a 350 degree oven for 15 mins. This recipe is virtually fool-proof; it’s easy, simple and SO tasty! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States