Pumpkin Pie (Wheat-Free, Egg-Free, and Dairy-Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Anniebb, I've found the potato starch will be make the dough denser and stickier, while potato flour will make dough less dense, a little less sticky. It really depends what you are making. But if you are making pie crust, a combo of rice, tapioca and potato flour or starch works fine. For example, if you use in potato starch in chocolate chip cookies it makes a dense, cake-like cookie. I use sorghum, rice and tapioca for cookies now. It makes a texture similar to the traditional "toll house cookie." Hope this help. Happy Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StaceyRae13
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was intimidated since other allergen free pumpkin pies involved tofu...ack, not in my pie! But this recipe had no tofu and it tasted like normal pumpkin pie. We do not have a gluten problem in our house so I did use my preferred crust, but used the filling and it was really, really good. It came out a little bit denser than I was expecting so may try a wee bit less cornstarch next time, and I may also try ditching the crust, putting the filling in souffle ramekins and then sprinkling gingerbread cookies on top of it. Amazingly good allergen free option, I highly recommend. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I would have rated this recipe five stars, but I cooked it for 1 1/2 hrs. and it still wasn't done in the middle!! My oven is less than 6 months old and I've never had this happen before so I don't think my oven was the issue. Even though it wasn't done, I pulled it out of the oven and refriderated it overnight as called for. It was very, very good! I also used a store bought GFCF pie crust. I will make this again and maybe turn the oven up 25 degrees. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
A friend of mine recently found out he was allergic to gluten and I am a baker so I of course had to find some recipes to try out. I found this book... Check out the site, this book has AMAZING recipes! Just thought I would share it with you. I had satisfied customers - everyone in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My 7 year old is allergic to milk and eggs, but loves pumpkin pie. This was a GREAT alternative for him and he LOVED it!! I used a Pillsbury crust since we don't have a gluten issue, but it turned out perfectly! Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good recipe. My husband did not even know the difference between this one and my other pumpkin pie. The only change I will try is changing the spices to my favorite pumpkin recipe. I thought there was to much spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My first ever gluten-free (vegan) pie - SUPER EASY and YUMMY! I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I mostly followed the recipe with the following exceptions: instead of ½ tsp ground ginger I only used a dash and added ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice; instead of canned pumpkin I used freshly baked & finely processed pumpkin – 2 cups as called for; and I was unable to find soy creamer at the store, so I used coffee-mate French vanilla creamer instead. Bake the crust 15 minutes – no more, no less. Follow directions exactly for the crust and it will turn out amazing – flakier than a regular (gluten) crust and with WAY more flavor. Since I was using a stone pie plate, I had already planned to bake the pie more than 60 minutes. My knife inserted 1 inch from the crust didn’t come out clean after an hour, so I didn’t feel bad leaving it in for 30 more minutes. I didn’t use the knife test again at the end of 90 minutes because if that wasn’t long enough, then there was something I did wrong with the recipe. Don’t let the appearance fool you – It won’t look done in the middle, but at the end of 90 minutes this pie was perfectly cooked. After I let it cool on a cooling rack on the counter for 2 hours, it was indeed cooked in the middle. I made it the day before Thanksgiving so it sat in the refrigerator overnight. To serve I simply reheated in a 350 degree oven for 15 mins. This recipe is virtually fool-proof; it’s easy, simple and SO tasty! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
a pretty good alternative pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free and Soy Free for my daughter with multiple food allergies and she LOVED it! I used Almond Milk with a touch of vanilla added, in place of the soy creamer. Thank you for a great CRUST RECIPE that I plan to use for all my Pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy, and tasty. the crust is a little crumbly but is waaaaay better than the store bought version of GF pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States