Pumpkin Pie (Wheat-Free, Egg-Free, and Dairy-Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StaceyRae13
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was intimidated since other allergen free pumpkin pies involved tofu...ack, not in my pie! But this recipe had no tofu and it tasted like normal pumpkin pie. We do not have a gluten problem in our house so I did use my preferred crust, but used the filling and it was really, really good. It came out a little bit denser than I was expecting so may try a wee bit less cornstarch next time, and I may also try ditching the crust, putting the filling in souffle ramekins and then sprinkling gingerbread cookies on top of it. Amazingly good allergen free option, I highly recommend. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good recipe. My husband did not even know the difference between this one and my other pumpkin pie. The only change I will try is changing the spices to my favorite pumpkin recipe. I thought there was to much spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
a pretty good alternative pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My 7 year old is allergic to milk and eggs, but loves pumpkin pie. This was a GREAT alternative for him and he LOVED it!! I used a Pillsbury crust since we don't have a gluten issue, but it turned out perfectly! Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
A friend of mine recently found out he was allergic to gluten and I am a baker so I of course had to find some recipes to try out. I found this book... Check out the site, this book has AMAZING recipes! Just thought I would share it with you. I had satisfied customers - everyone in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I would have rated this recipe five stars, but I cooked it for 1 1/2 hrs. and it still wasn't done in the middle!! My oven is less than 6 months old and I've never had this happen before so I don't think my oven was the issue. Even though it wasn't done, I pulled it out of the oven and refriderated it overnight as called for. It was very, very good! I also used a store bought GFCF pie crust. I will make this again and maybe turn the oven up 25 degrees. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Anniebb, I've found the potato starch will be make the dough denser and stickier, while potato flour will make dough less dense, a little less sticky. It really depends what you are making. But if you are making pie crust, a combo of rice, tapioca and potato flour or starch works fine. For example, if you use in potato starch in chocolate chip cookies it makes a dense, cake-like cookie. I use sorghum, rice and tapioca for cookies now. It makes a texture similar to the traditional "toll house cookie." Hope this help. Happy Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy, and tasty. the crust is a little crumbly but is waaaaay better than the store bought version of GF pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Haven't tried it yet, but can't get my question asked without rating the recipe (-: Kate, Do you use potato flour or potato starch in your homemade GF all-purpose flour mix? Just starting to bake GF and have read that potato starch is better, but don't know why. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States