Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The Squares were a little dry, however, they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeaganMD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie. I didn't put the nut/brown sugar topping on and istead topped it with fresh homemade whipped cream. The crust is the best! I loved the oatmeal in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These were really very good tasting, but much thinner than I was expecting. I think maybe baking in a little smaller pan would be better, which I will try next time. This will not replace regular pumpkin pie, but I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good! Everything is perfect as is (i.e. there is just enough streusel topping, despite other's advice to double it) and works very well together (i.e. crust, custard and topping). Made these to take to my future in-laws Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone liked them a LOT (except for my fiance, a confirmed pumpkin hater and his two non-dessert eating brothers :-) ). Even my parents liked these, which came as a surprise to me since they are very "traditional" folks (i.e. plain 'ol pumpkin pie eaters). Please note: To make the crust, you MUST melt your butter and THEN add it to your oat mixture. Amy doesn't specify whether or not to do this (but I know to do so from having made plenty of bar recipes before). Oh, and your streusel topping will crumble MUCH easier if you cut your (cold) butter into very tiny pieces and use a pastry blender (i.e. special kitchen gadget for this purpose) to "blend." Finally, if you have a stand mixer, let it do your work for you. I beat my egg whites to soft peaks in no time flat (which sure beats doing it by hand!!!)! All in all, this is an excellent bar recipe, but I must admit that I am a traditionalist too, and much prefer the standby pumpkin pie, at least on Tday. :-) These sure are good (even cold!) with a generous dollop of Cool-whip though.... Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
As written, this recipe is very good. I would recommend trying it as written first before making any adjustments. I doubled the crust as suggested by some reviewers and I prefer the thinner crust..it's all a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Yummm.....Hand's down the best pumpkin dessert I've ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly. And it was SCRUMPTIOUS...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starry9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
DELICIOUS, however, I followed what others said about adding extra sugar - next time I won't do this as I thought it was a tad sweet (and I love sweet) but everyone else really loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Super yummy! My husband likes pecan pie and I like pumpkin...this was the perfect marriage of the two. When I make the whipped cream for this I flavor it with Irish whiskey or bourbon...about 2 tsp per cup of whipping cream...it's SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Awesome fall dessert!! I switched up the flour vs. oats ratio for the crust and used 1 c. oats and 1/2 c. flour. I always cut back on the sugar and only use about 1/2 of what the recipe calls for. Really made the pumpkin take over and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe! But I would agree with everyone to double the crust, and possibly double the streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States