Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made the recipe as written. I didn't care for the crust. It came out very hard and dry. The filling was OK, except I didn't care for the cloves, which gave it slightly bitter taste. I'd much rather have traditional pumpkin pie, which is about the same amount of work....less work if you use a pre-made pie crust. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
nice idea instead of pie, we took them camping, easy to pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent. The dough takes a little work to get it spread out into the entire pan, but makes a wonderful crust when finished. Have made these several times now and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum yum yum YUM! This is the perfect recipe for when you are craving a pumpkin pie in little bite sized pieces. I used margarine (for cholesterol reasons, I know.. blasphemy), and I cut the brown sugar in the crust to about 1/4 cup. I didn't have a hand mixer (just moved, so it's not in sight), but beating/creaming by hand, with a whisk, was not difficult. The "crust" was jsut about enough for a 9x13 pan, although I had added 1/4 cup more oats because the reviews said the dough was short for that pan size. You just need to press it in thin, but it's still a decent thickness - and it seemed to poof a bit in the oven. For the pumpkin part, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, and added fresh ground nutmeg to the spices, as well. The only issue I had with this recipe was the baking time. At 20 minutes, the center was barely set. At 30 minutes, it began to set, and at 40 minutes it seemed to be set enough to remove. The edges were beginning to brown, so I had to reduce to 325 to avoid burnt edges. It's a new oven (see above, new house) :) so it may have just been my issue, not the recipe. Regardless, I will be making this again! It's so creamy, yummy, and so cozy on these unseasonably cool temps we've been having in California. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Just a little too pumpkiny for us... and my base came out as hard as a rock. Not sure what happened with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. Much easier than making pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We enjoyed these. Next time I'll try using my usual pumpkin pie filling (which has a bit of molasses) since we missed that particular flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought with all the good reviews I would make them for Xmas ... what a mistake. I made the recipe as written with the exception of cooking it in a smaller pan (8x8) as so many recommended. The base stuck to the pan making it impossible to cut them out. I cooked the filling twice as long and chilled completely and it was still loose. The flavor of the filling was good and I did manage to pry a piece of crust up to taste it and I found it to be a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent! Made this recipe exactly as stated and it came out fabulous - no changes needed. Crust is thin when pressed into a 9x13 pan but that is at it should be. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
not done in 20 minutes. Knife inserted in center not clean. Took 8 more minutes. Hope the crust isn't overdoon.(I used a glass 13x9x2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States