Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!!!! And easy! And forgiving. I'm never making any other kind of pumpkin pie again. After reading the reviews, I was afraid there wouldn't be enough crust to cover the bottom, so I simply added 1/2 cup flour. With that change, I had enough crust. Second, I did not have evaporated milk, so I just used what I had on hand: milk and a few tablespoons of half and half. I'm going to try using plain milk next time. FYI it took 40 minutes in the oven for my filling to set. I also cooled it thoroughly in the fridge after cooling it on the counter. SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this exactly as directed. There was just enough crumb mixture to spread into a 13X9 easily. I sprinkled the entire pan with the crumbs evenly and then pressed them down with my fingers; it took a total of 1 minute. When baked the filling was about the same thickness as the crust. The crust was not crispy; it more resembled a pie crust that was not fully baked and not flaky. When I make this again I will try baking the crust until it starts to look brown around the edges and I will use pumpkin pie spice instead of the other spices. I would say that this would serve 10-12 as dessert when topped with some whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I followed this recipe to the T (although I had to cook mine 40+ minutes after I added the pumpkin mixture) and it was delicious! For those concerned about not enough dough for the crust... just crumble up the dough in your hand as you spread it over the pan. Then press the dough into the pan like you would rice krispy bars. Using that method the dough was a perfect fit for the 9x12 pan. It wasn't a surprise that it had to cook longer, a pumpkin pie which is only slightly deeper than this normally cooks for 40-50 minutes. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this into tarts as there was no way the crust mixture was going to be enough for a 9x13 pan. As it happens, the recipe divided between 24 muffin cups was perfect. I just found the overall result rather bland, especially the crust, which was heavy and flavorless. I think I'll stick to the always rich and flavorful traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is a great change for a crust. Excellent! Many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was hesitant to give this recipe five stars, but it was so delicious I felt I had to. Why I was hesitant was because of the major changes I made in the proportion of the ingredients. Following the advice of another reviewer, I kept the amount of crust the same, but increased the amount of filling (in this case by 50%). I did not increase the amount of sugar in the filling. I had to bake it for a lot longer than the recipe called for because of this change. I baked the crust for about 7 minutes, and the filling I kept checking every 12-15 minutes after an initial 30 minutes until it was set. As described, the crust came out crispy, and the top was like pumpkin pie. I like this recipe better than pumpkin pie and would serve it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was amazing! Even better than regular pumpkin pie! I added a tiny bit of nutmeg to it. My husband and I loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have made these for Thanksgiving dinner several times. They are small and nice to serve when there are several desserts to choose from. Tastes just like pumpkin pie with a "nutty" crust that is better than pie crust. I use an 11 X 7 baking pan for better crust coverage. Just before serving I garnish each square with aerosol whipped cream "blossoms" & dust with a light coating of cinnamon. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this for a pumpkin carving party. I used a pretzel and graham cracker crust. Very good and just like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I don't know if I will ever make regular pumpkin pie again. I first made it for a retreat weekend to which everyone brought food and snacks and these squares got unanimous rave reviews. I've made them many times since with the same response. They're incredibly quick and simple to make, easy to serve, and have a delicious pumpkin pie flavor and texture. They are wonderful for occasions like Thanksgiving when there are likely to be many desserts, because people can have "just a taste" rather than taking a whole large slice of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States