Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was an awesome pumpkin desert. Super quick and easy to make. I had rave reviews from my family and my friends. Any potluck I have been requested to make these. To make it a bit more low-fat the second go around I used fat free evaporated milk and used half butter and half margarine and you couldn't even taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was just soooo incredibly good! Its just as good if not BETTER than pumpkin pie! I made as written and it was just fine for me. I did use fresh nutmeg and added a little extra cinnamon and ginger for flavor and that worked out well. It takes A LOT longer to cook and set the crust, and same problem with the filling. You basically need to double both cooking times just as a starting point. Next time I might double the crust and add more sugar to the filling because although its not too sweet you could make it sweeter if you wanted.......Don't be scared of the filling, when you add the evaporated milk it seems SO thin! Thin like soup.....thats ok! It will reduce and leave a thick rich filling. (Hence why its a 40 min cook time and not 20 as listed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
YUM! I basically followed the recipe ingredients as written, with the exception of using all flour for the base. I baked it in a 9x9 pan lined with parchment paper for 40 minutes (double the cooking time). Another reviewer mentioned they were more like pumpkin pie than bars; the name of the recipe is Pumpkin Pie Bars. They came out exactly as I'd hoped - a mini version of pumpkin pie that I can eat with my hands :) On to the Thanksgiving sweet tray they go! *Remember that pumpkin pie is done when the edges are set to about an inch towards the centre, and it's still a bit jiggly in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I really didn't like the taste or texture of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Incredible!!! I followed the recipe to the letter and it was perfect!! I never have been able to figure out why ppl change it and then rate with less then five stars! If they follow exactly and don't like it then less would be acceptable! These were wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mortaltoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
these were OK, i cut the recipe in half but accidently added the full amount of spices and salt. I like spicy so that wasn't a problem. The pumpkin never quite firmed up. probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Our family has made this recipe for years! Not sure why the crust didn't work for others; works for me (but we don't cream it together, we just cut in the butter w/pastry cutter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I found that the crust was perfect for my 9x13 pan, I don't know how anyone found it wasn't enough to cover the pan! I did need to bake longer, though, it was so liquid-y after 20 minutes, I ended up adding 3 minutes at a time until it was more "done" looking. It was about 35 minutes bake time. Followed all other directions and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I also doubled the filling andbaked longer, my oven must be off because I had to bake it for 70 min (checking on it after 50 min. to be sure), then refridgerated it over night and it was perfect! The crust was plenty big enough to cover my 9x13 and everyone was asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made in 8x8 square pan and baked filling for about 50 min... Came out perfect and yummy! Liked the crust too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States