Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Cottontimer
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I used a square pan rather than the 9x13 so had ample crust. The filling needs some refining though as it seems to be either missing or lacking something. Otherwise, a very simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cottontimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought theese were really good. I had plenty of crust. I melted the butter all the way instead of creaming it. That might be why i had plenty of crust for a full 9x13. Anyways, i followed the recipe as is and needed to bake filling about 5 minutes longer than stated. I am in Houston tx so the humidity could have played a factor in bake time. Everyone should try this though. I probably will never go through the trouble of making pumpkin pie again. This is just as good and alot quicker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, I changed it up a bit based on some other people's recommendations. First I added a few drops of maple (you could also use vanilla) extract to the crust. I also put it in a square 8x8 pan. I put a bit more cinnamon than stated as well. It cam out pretty good, just like bit size pumpkin pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephstaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I doubled the crust recipe per other reviewers suggestion but I was disappointed. I didn't double the entire recipe and should have because the pumpkin filling wasn't enough for how thick the crust ended up. I used a 9 X 13 in pan and if your not doubling the recipe I would go ahead and put the mixture into a 9 inch baking pan. I wasn't a big fan of the crust but my husband loved the squares and he is a hard judge! Overall, I would make again because it is reminiscent of a pumpkin pie, without having to deal with making a pie crust, letting it rest and rolling it out. SO easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The bottom did not cook well, creating an overall very mushy dessert. Taste was pretty good...a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I baked this in a 9 by 9 pan, as suggested, and baked it beforehand for 15 minutes as suggested before adding the filling. As these were more dense using a smaller pan, I had to bake much longer than suggested, and the crust ended up a bit too dark, so as suggested I would probably eliminate the crust baking the next go around or maybe limit it to 5 minutes, as the crust needs to be cooked but not overbrowned. The taste was like pumpkin pie, but I might try the addition of nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
The recipe as is, wouldn't work very well. I doubled both the crust and filling as suggested by others. I baked the crust 10 minutes before adding the filling and then returned it to the oven for 50 minutes at 350 degrees. These are absolutely delicious. One other change I also made was that I used 1 c half and half in place of the second can of condensed milk, because I only had one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I doubled it in a 9x13, so that probably screwed it up somewhat, but I didn't like the texture and the flavor was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were good! I'm not sure why i was expecting something a little different than pumpkin pie in bar form, but i guess i was a little disappointed that it was EXACTLY pumpkin pie in a square shape instead of triangle. The crust was different, and good, but i think i prefer the traditional pie crust. But totally not a bad recipe! We ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan...but my husband is..and he loves these!! They are really easy to make, and even "special" enough for company. I use an 8 x 8 pan so the bars turn out thicker.....you have to bake them longer....just take them out when the filling is set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States