Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, I changed it up a bit based on some other people's recommendations. First I added a few drops of maple (you could also use vanilla) extract to the crust. I also put it in a square 8x8 pan. I put a bit more cinnamon than stated as well. It cam out pretty good, just like bit size pumpkin pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephstaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I doubled the crust recipe per other reviewers suggestion but I was disappointed. I didn't double the entire recipe and should have because the pumpkin filling wasn't enough for how thick the crust ended up. I used a 9 X 13 in pan and if your not doubling the recipe I would go ahead and put the mixture into a 9 inch baking pan. I wasn't a big fan of the crust but my husband loved the squares and he is a hard judge! Overall, I would make again because it is reminiscent of a pumpkin pie, without having to deal with making a pie crust, letting it rest and rolling it out. SO easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The bottom did not cook well, creating an overall very mushy dessert. Taste was pretty good...a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I baked this in a 9 by 9 pan, as suggested, and baked it beforehand for 15 minutes as suggested before adding the filling. As these were more dense using a smaller pan, I had to bake much longer than suggested, and the crust ended up a bit too dark, so as suggested I would probably eliminate the crust baking the next go around or maybe limit it to 5 minutes, as the crust needs to be cooked but not overbrowned. The taste was like pumpkin pie, but I might try the addition of nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
The recipe as is, wouldn't work very well. I doubled both the crust and filling as suggested by others. I baked the crust 10 minutes before adding the filling and then returned it to the oven for 50 minutes at 350 degrees. These are absolutely delicious. One other change I also made was that I used 1 c half and half in place of the second can of condensed milk, because I only had one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I doubled it in a 9x13, so that probably screwed it up somewhat, but I didn't like the texture and the flavor was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were good! I'm not sure why i was expecting something a little different than pumpkin pie in bar form, but i guess i was a little disappointed that it was EXACTLY pumpkin pie in a square shape instead of triangle. The crust was different, and good, but i think i prefer the traditional pie crust. But totally not a bad recipe! We ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan...but my husband is..and he loves these!! They are really easy to make, and even "special" enough for company. I use an 8 x 8 pan so the bars turn out thicker.....you have to bake them longer....just take them out when the filling is set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Looooove this recipe, tastes great. I cooked the crust a little longer, 20 minutes so the squares were crispy enough to pick up and eat. It only lasts one day in my house. Great alternative to pumpkin pie when I am out of crust. I always substitute Splenda sugar or Splenda brown sugar and fat free condensed milk and it works great. A little healthier as I am diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I doubled all ingredients, used pumpkin pie spice, omitted salt. I also sprayed my pan before adding crust. I followed the other idea of baking the crust 5 minutes before adding pumpkin. Just kept checking it to make sure it didn't burn. Everyone at work raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Whitesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States