Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used a real (baking? sugar? pie?) pumpkin - baked & scooped it first, then pureed it in the food processor - but other than that, I followed the recipe as written. (Except, oh, I realized I didn't have evaporated milk so I used regular milk). It turned out really tasty, but a little different from regular pumpkin pie. The difference is the crust -- it was more like eating a thin layer (half-inch) of pumpkin pie filling atop a standard oatmeal cookie. Not bad, but different. My husband called it a "pumpkin cobbler." Of note, the filling was really liquidy when I poured it into the crust - much more liquidy than when I make a pie using canned pumpkin. It was basically the consistency of milk. I was really worried about it setting right, but it did fine (I added about 10 minutes to the cook time). I baked it in a 13''x9'' pan and felt the crust depth was fine as written. (My filling seemed to soak into the crust a bit -- which is probably what made it cobbler-like -- there was almost a middle layer of pumpkin-infused oatmealy yumminess.) I will make this recipe again because it satisfies my pumpkin-pie craving and is way easier than making a crust (healthier, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I doubled the crust like I had read in some reviews and it was a HUGE mistake. It added cooking time onto the crust AND onto the pumpkin part. By the time it "finished" cooking, the crust was inedible. On top of that, the crust had little to no flavor. I would have been better off just making pumpkin pie my usual yummy way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great tasting recipe. I definitely suggest doubling the base (don't need all the sugar, though) and adjusting the spices up a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I doubled this recipe, both the base and the filling and used soy milk, added more spices. Loved the base as I substituted some almond flour for the regular flour and a tad of vanilla. Put it in a 9 x 13 pan and had to bake it for 70 minutes. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
So yummy! I love the pumpkin filling. I used 2.2 quart dish instead of a 9x13 after reading other reviews and I thought the filling was thick and the crust was too. I actually really liked the crust, despite what some other reviews said. I did have to cook the squares for about a 1/2 hour, maybe a little more. Just kept checking them. I though they were delicious and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
FLAWED RECIPE, but great concept. As other reviewers stated, the crust does not need to be baked for such a long time before hand. There was so little pumpkin that I doubled the pumpkin filling and that seems to make everything better. I much prefer the pumpkin/cheesecake bars over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Awesome! Didn't change a thing! Everyone loved them particularly the men! Easy and quick crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
The crust didn't really blend well with the pumpkin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cottontimer
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I used a square pan rather than the 9x13 so had ample crust. The filling needs some refining though as it seems to be either missing or lacking something. Otherwise, a very simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cottontimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought theese were really good. I had plenty of crust. I melted the butter all the way instead of creaming it. That might be why i had plenty of crust for a full 9x13. Anyways, i followed the recipe as is and needed to bake filling about 5 minutes longer than stated. I am in Houston tx so the humidity could have played a factor in bake time. Everyone should try this though. I probably will never go through the trouble of making pumpkin pie again. This is just as good and alot quicker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States