Pumpkin Pie Spice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I added more cinnamon. For some reason the ginger overshadowed the other spices. Yuk, so I added more cinnamon and wish I had some cloves because a small dash might have helped as well. But in a nutshell, this is a great little recipe to have on hand so you don't end up spending a fortune on a pre-packaged "pumpkin pie spice" bottle. Just find the perfect mix for your liking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used roasted Saigon cinnamon from McCormick, which is deep and intense. I agree with others who found that the recipe needs ground clove as well. I'll add that the next time. I only made a small batch, for making lattes with, this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Why does this recipe take 20 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I usually find something 'off' about store bought pumpkin pie spices, but this is a base that's easy to make with proportions that are easy to remember. I like cloves AND allspice, so since both are similar, I did **1.5 tsp. of cloves + 1.5 tsp of allspice (1/2 of each) to equal the 3 tsp. of allspice called for. Then I added about *1-2 extra Tbsp. cinnamon to taste. I've put it with delicious results in cinnamon rolls and pumpkin pie at a ratio of about *2 tsp. cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. pie spice, and the spice blend was perfect! No one spice negatively overpowered the others; no, "WOAH, easy on the cloves next time! Can't even taste the ginger!" Obviously, if you don't love cinnamon like I do, you may want to skip my additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Much, much better than McCormick's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made 1 change: I used 2 teaspoons allspice and 1 tsp nutmeg. This was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is an exact match for the little shaker of store bought pumpkin pie spice that I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Loved to use what ever I have in my pantry without shopping for a new ingredient. MC pumpkin spice has only cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice , however some people like to add cloves and some like to add cardamom it depends , U can customize it the way U like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe is perfection for most tastes, so I awarded 5 stars. However, the "Libby's" recipe for pumpkin pie has long been my go-to recipe for pumpkin pie. It calls for cloves and does not call for all-spice. I think the all-spice adds a certain mellow kick to this blend, but felt it still needed a bit of cloves, so I added 1/2 tsp. and found it to be perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma.Cindie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very helpful in a tight amount of time and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States