Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! I choose it because of being able to use regular milk instead of evaporated which I did not have. I have now made this about 5 times and sometimes I use mashed cooked sweet potato or mashed cooked butternut squash instead of the pumpkin. Both options turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Took the advice of others and cut back on the sugar and doubled up on the spices. It was easy and delicious. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I was surprised by how nicely this turned out without using evaporated milk or sweetened condensed milk. I baked a fresh pumpkin in the oven first, and that truly gives it the richest flavor since the sugars carmelize so nicely that way. I reduced the milk to 1.5 cups, added 2 extra tablespoons of flour and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. That actually was PLENTY of sugar, so don't overdo it. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
The texture was great - i liked this pie made with milk. but 2.5 cups of sugar is FAR TOO MUCH. this was sickeningly sweet. if i make it again i will try only 1 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was a life saver!! I didn't have any evaporated or sweetened condensed milk like most other pumpkin pie recipes call for. So I hunted and found this treasure! I made this for my daughter's birthday party. She requested homemade pumpkin pie instead of cake. Instead of canned pumpkin, I baked two pie pumpkins and it worked just great. This was a hit at the party. One girl's mother spoke to me several weeks later and asked for the recipe because her daughter raved about it so much. I didn't really follow the spice amounts. I just added however much I felt like and it worked perfect! You cannot miss with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Yummy! I needed a recipe with no condensed or evaporated milk, none on hand. I used skim milk, baked acorn squash and only 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar(plenty sweet).... Wonderful results! I would not increase the clove(personal preference) I WILL be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very good. Used vanilla soy milk and it turned out great for my lactose intolerant parent. Also used xylitol for the sweetner. No one else could tell the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
It was tasty with just 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Mine took an extra 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, and even just one cup would have been plenty. I also had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes, but overall this recipe is delicious for all its simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipe was easy to follow -- with ingredients I always have on hand. My husband thought this was one of the better tasting pumpkin pies he's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States