Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a really nice recipe, particularly if, like me, you're trying to cut calories and don't want a can of Eagle Brand sugar syrup in your pie. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of Splenda for some of the white sugar in this. I don't taste the Splenda at all, but it is, IMHO, way too sweet, so next time I'm going to cut the sugar by at least half a cup, maybe more. I also added more of the spices--I like a spicy pie. The texture is light and fluffy, and I feel pretty good knowing I cut many of the calories using granular Splenda. Cooked in the normal amount of time, but I had only a store-bought regular pie shell, so it wasn't very deep. The rest of the pie filling went into an 8" x 8" square pan, and I'm eating it now, for Thanksgiving Day breakfast! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent. I have been looking for a pumpkin pie recipe with out condensed milk and this is IT! I made one pie using fresh roasted pumpkin, 2 eggs, 1/2 C sucanat (natural sugar) and sprouted soft whole wheat flour. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly for one pie. So good, so easy. Will make this recipe every time we want pumpkin pie. My search is over. Hochstetler, you're the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Is this supposed to make 2 - 9" pies or just one? The recipe calls for one 9" pie crust but then it says to pour into the pie shells. Please help, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This would be a five star, except for the unreasonable amount of sugar called for in the recipe. I made 1 1/2 batches, which made 3 pies, and I only put in ONE CUP TOTAL! It was plenty sweet enough. I used raw sugar. I also cooked my own pumpkin, and drained it using a square of old sheet fabric in a colander, and then squeezing until it was reduced to the thickness of canned pumpkin (the volume left was less than 1/2 of what I started with). The filling still seemed a bit runny to me, (because of using my pumpkin, not because of the recipe) so I added a heaping Tablespoon of cornstarch. The pies turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Still too sweet with 1 1/2 cups sugar ... and I have a sweet tooth The spices were a little too strong for my taste also, but the pie consistency was excellent and it just needs a little tweeking to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
super with amendments - 1 c sugar maybe 1-1/2, cook more like 45 extra minutes, and it may be more than fits in a 9 or even 10 inch shell - I also added a little ginger - great texture - also I serve COLD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I used the Shortbread crust on this site (did not pre-bake crust), everything turned out quite well. I also cut way back on sugar - only used one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was a life saver!! I didn't have any evaporated or sweetened condensed milk like most other pumpkin pie recipes call for. So I hunted and found this treasure! I made this for my daughter's birthday party. She requested homemade pumpkin pie instead of cake. Instead of canned pumpkin, I baked two pie pumpkins and it worked just great. This was a hit at the party. One girl's mother spoke to me several weeks later and asked for the recipe because her daughter raved about it so much. I didn't really follow the spice amounts. I just added however much I felt like and it worked perfect! You cannot miss with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Yummy! I needed a recipe with no condensed or evaporated milk, none on hand. I used skim milk, baked acorn squash and only 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar(plenty sweet).... Wonderful results! I would not increase the clove(personal preference) I WILL be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My kids loved it. It turned out great, and less fattening by using this recipe for milk. Easy and quick. Will save this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States