Pumpkin Pie French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I have made other pumpkin french toast recipes, and none compare to this one. I think what sets this one apart must be the cream, the pumpkin pie spice and vanilla extract. I could taste the pumpkin in this recipe and the flavor overall was great. I used whole grain bread as I wanted to make this as a healthy breakfast for my family however, if I was making this simply to indulge tastebuds, I would go for slices of french bread and top it all off with generous dollops of spiced whipped cream, or a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a good drizzle of maple syrup, as suggested. The whole family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good. I used Carnation evaporated milk. This woorks great with the flavored Coffeemate liquid creamers too. French Vanilla or the holiday flavor you like best. Thanks Andrea. Pumpkin worked into any recipe is so good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I used organic eggs, fat free half-n-half, Trader Joe's pumpkin puree and I actually used all pumpkin pie spice which was 1 1/4. My kids really enjoyed this. I made a homemade maple-vanilla syrup to drizzle over the top and I'll tell you...they ate all but one piece. I tried a bit and thought it was pretty good, though I might like to increase the pumpkin to a half cup and maybe cut the half-n-half to a quarter cup next time to REALLY taste the pumpkin. Using the maple-vanilla syrup with it was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were great! One addition that I did, was to add 1 ts of brown sugar. Other wise everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A nice change of pace from traditional French toast. Even though I stirred the batter though between bread dippings, the walnuts tended to slide to the bottom of the batter, so that the first pieces of toast had few nuts and the last ones had the bulk of them. To compensate next time, I will use a serrated spoon and scoop up some walnut pieces from the batter to sprinkle on the tops of breads as they are lowered onto the griddle. I tried this out toward the end and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was wonderful! I used plain half and half, but it I am going to try it again with Gingerbread flvaored creamer. The pumpkin mixture absorbed nicely into the bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I like anything pumpkin flavored. These definitely made a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaLeinonen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheboygan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I didn't happen to have any cream or walnuts on hand and I needed to cut the recipe in half, but I figured I would try this recipe anyway. I used 2 eggs, about a 1/4 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and 1/8 teaspoon of ground ginger and ground cloves. It still turned out phenomenal! This definitely feels like you're dipping the bread into pumpkin pie mix and it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe! It completely tasted like pumpkin pie. It was a great blend though. Because you could really taste the pumpkin pie flavor in the midst of the traditional french toast. I used another recipe with this called Cinnamon Syrup and the combination was fabulous! I absolutely recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used this recipe more for the idea than anything. I subbed skim milk for and made my own pumpkin pie spice (dashes of cinnamon, ginger, allspice, nutmeg). Can't really speak to the quality of the recipes proportions as I eyeballed it, but it made for a wonderful variation on regular french toast and was a great use for extra pumpkin puree (without having to make a second pie!). Thanks for the idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States