Pumpkin Pie Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mikekey
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This made a tasty change from pumpkin pie. Nice smooth texture. I made this more diabetic friendly by using homemade sugar-free condensed milk, and Splenda Baking Blend for the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Yummy, a great combination of two of my favorite desserts. For a more pumpkiny flavour you can double the pumkin and then it turns out almost exactly like pumpkin pie filling without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Also made this in individual custard cups and it turned out great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Yummy! I had homemade pumpkin puree, so instead of pumpkin pie filling, I used 1 cup of the plain pumpkin (also could use canned pumpkin), a heaping 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I also increased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have allspice, so I left it out and it tasted fine. The texture of it is slightly different from regular flan because of the pumpkin, but it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is so good!! Thanks for sharing. :) I made it for a couple of gatherings and everyone asked for the recipe. I'd never made a flan or a pumpkin pie before so this was totally new. Loved the flavor and texture. Even my very picky eater loved this dessert. He asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniMac05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this flan for my husband for Thanksgiving and he loved it. I was fairly easy to make as far as flan is concerned. I did add some pumpkin pie spice to give it a stronger flavor and also added more condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Herbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The taste is good but texture is not like flan. More like a crustless pumpkin pie. It could be because I only had 4 eggs though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
First time making flan and it came out great. On the advice of another reviewer, I used more condensed milk (about three to four more ounces). I used a 9" round aluminum pan and baked it for one hour in a hot water bath with a kitchen towel under the flan pan. I removed it from the oven and let it cool in the water bath before refrigerating. My family loves flan so I tried this one for Christmas and everyone liked it. As other reviewers stated, it was similar to pumpkin pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was a hit at my family dinner. Highly recommend. Thanks for the recipe! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It was entirely to sweet for me, but my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States