Pumpkin Pie Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It was entirely to sweet for me, but my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by An
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I thought it turned out exactly as it should. But honestly it tastes like pumpkin pie with no crust. It doesn't have the smooth texture of flan. From now on I will just make traditional flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this flan for my husband for Thanksgiving and he loved it. I was fairly easy to make as far as flan is concerned. I did add some pumpkin pie spice to give it a stronger flavor and also added more condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Herbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
pretty good. we did not taste a whole lot of pumpkin - but the pumpkin did make the texture a little strange. I think I just prefer the standard flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The taste is good but texture is not like flan. More like a crustless pumpkin pie. It could be because I only had 4 eggs though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was a hit at my family dinner. Highly recommend. Thanks for the recipe! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is so good!! Thanks for sharing. :) I made it for a couple of gatherings and everyone asked for the recipe. I'd never made a flan or a pumpkin pie before so this was totally new. Loved the flavor and texture. Even my very picky eater loved this dessert. He asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniMac05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
First time making flan and it came out great. On the advice of another reviewer, I used more condensed milk (about three to four more ounces). I used a 9" round aluminum pan and baked it for one hour in a hot water bath with a kitchen towel under the flan pan. I removed it from the oven and let it cool in the water bath before refrigerating. My family loves flan so I tried this one for Christmas and everyone liked it. As other reviewers stated, it was similar to pumpkin pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I must have done something wrong. Did not comeout of pan at all. Sugar topping boiled out of pan when cooking. Flan was kind of grainy, not smooth like normal flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Yummy! I had homemade pumpkin puree, so instead of pumpkin pie filling, I used 1 cup of the plain pumpkin (also could use canned pumpkin), a heaping 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I also increased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have allspice, so I left it out and it tasted fine. The texture of it is slightly different from regular flan because of the pumpkin, but it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States