Pumpkin Pie Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this flan for my husband for Thanksgiving and he loved it. I was fairly easy to make as far as flan is concerned. I did add some pumpkin pie spice to give it a stronger flavor and also added more condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
pretty good. we did not taste a whole lot of pumpkin - but the pumpkin did make the texture a little strange. I think I just prefer the standard flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The taste is good but texture is not like flan. More like a crustless pumpkin pie. It could be because I only had 4 eggs though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was a hit at my family dinner. Highly recommend. Thanks for the recipe! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is so good!! Thanks for sharing. :) I made it for a couple of gatherings and everyone asked for the recipe. I'd never made a flan or a pumpkin pie before so this was totally new. Loved the flavor and texture. Even my very picky eater loved this dessert. He asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniMac05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
First time making flan and it came out great. On the advice of another reviewer, I used more condensed milk (about three to four more ounces). I used a 9" round aluminum pan and baked it for one hour in a hot water bath with a kitchen towel under the flan pan. I removed it from the oven and let it cool in the water bath before refrigerating. My family loves flan so I tried this one for Christmas and everyone liked it. As other reviewers stated, it was similar to pumpkin pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I must have done something wrong. Did not comeout of pan at all. Sugar topping boiled out of pan when cooking. Flan was kind of grainy, not smooth like normal flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Yummy! I had homemade pumpkin puree, so instead of pumpkin pie filling, I used 1 cup of the plain pumpkin (also could use canned pumpkin), a heaping 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I also increased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have allspice, so I left it out and it tasted fine. The texture of it is slightly different from regular flan because of the pumpkin, but it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe. The four star rating is only because I changed the recipe a bit. I used regular pumpkin filling and added my own spices. I make a lot of flans, so I also like a creamier taste and ended up adding the whole 10 oz. can of condensed milk. The flan came out very light and was incredibly easy to make. Next time, for a denser flan, I may substitute some or all of the evaporated milk with 1/2 and 1/2. Will make it less fluffy and more flan like. To the user who had a hard time getting it out of the pan - use a pyrex dish or loaf pan and a bit more sugar (1 cup) in the carmelization part in the beginning and be sure to coat the pan completely. This will help the flan pop right out of the dish and then there's a little more syrup to drizzle over the flan for a yummy presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachycez
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This got RAVE reviews at Thanksgiving and I'll definitely be making it again! I love pumpkin pie but dislike crust so I was looking for an alternative. I love flan too, and this recipe exemplified the best of both worlds. It was inexpensive and easy to make, but tasted like a million bucks, especially the leftovers two days after I'd baked it! For a creamy, delicate, more flan-like texture, I added the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and baked it for an extra half hour. The water had evaporated by about 1/2 after an hour of baking - if this is the case and you need more baking time, add more hot water and check for doneness about every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States