Pumpkin Pie Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Yummy, a great combination of two of my favorite desserts. For a more pumpkiny flavour you can double the pumkin and then it turns out almost exactly like pumpkin pie filling without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Also made this in individual custard cups and it turned out great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe and it turned out perfectly. My mother-in-law who is Cuban raved about this and asked me to make it the next time she visits. I think it tasted like pumpkin pie without a crust and the texture was different than original flan because of the pumpkin. I prefer the creaminess of flan so I gave this recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttongirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for a dinner for around 50 people and it was wonderful, better than I thought it would be. I did have trouble getting it out of glass pan. I know it's good when someone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikekey
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This made a tasty change from pumpkin pie. Nice smooth texture. I made this more diabetic friendly by using homemade sugar-free condensed milk, and Splenda Baking Blend for the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachycez
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This got RAVE reviews at Thanksgiving and I'll definitely be making it again! I love pumpkin pie but dislike crust so I was looking for an alternative. I love flan too, and this recipe exemplified the best of both worlds. It was inexpensive and easy to make, but tasted like a million bucks, especially the leftovers two days after I'd baked it! For a creamy, delicate, more flan-like texture, I added the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and baked it for an extra half hour. The water had evaporated by about 1/2 after an hour of baking - if this is the case and you need more baking time, add more hot water and check for doneness about every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe. The four star rating is only because I changed the recipe a bit. I used regular pumpkin filling and added my own spices. I make a lot of flans, so I also like a creamier taste and ended up adding the whole 10 oz. can of condensed milk. The flan came out very light and was incredibly easy to make. Next time, for a denser flan, I may substitute some or all of the evaporated milk with 1/2 and 1/2. Will make it less fluffy and more flan like. To the user who had a hard time getting it out of the pan - use a pyrex dish or loaf pan and a bit more sugar (1 cup) in the carmelization part in the beginning and be sure to coat the pan completely. This will help the flan pop right out of the dish and then there's a little more syrup to drizzle over the flan for a yummy presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Yummy! I had homemade pumpkin puree, so instead of pumpkin pie filling, I used 1 cup of the plain pumpkin (also could use canned pumpkin), a heaping 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I also increased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have allspice, so I left it out and it tasted fine. The texture of it is slightly different from regular flan because of the pumpkin, but it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I must have done something wrong. Did not comeout of pan at all. Sugar topping boiled out of pan when cooking. Flan was kind of grainy, not smooth like normal flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
First time making flan and it came out great. On the advice of another reviewer, I used more condensed milk (about three to four more ounces). I used a 9" round aluminum pan and baked it for one hour in a hot water bath with a kitchen towel under the flan pan. I removed it from the oven and let it cool in the water bath before refrigerating. My family loves flan so I tried this one for Christmas and everyone liked it. As other reviewers stated, it was similar to pumpkin pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States