Pumpkin Pie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
This cake is wonderful--delicious and easy to make. I found that it tasted better, when I used two 9oz. Jiffy yellow cake mixes (without pudding in the mix) for the topping. I've made this about 5 times, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Wonderful. Used 4 eggs for a firmer texture. Spread dry spice cake mix and dropped pats of butter (about 1 1/2 cups -- we love butter) across the top. The butter melted and made a crispy topping. I skipped dinner and went straight to dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
When I took this cake from the oven rich aroma of the season lured my downstairs neighbor up to my door wanting to know what I had baked. She ran downstairs to put on a fresh pot of coffee and we had two pieces of this fabulous "pie cake" while it was still warm from the oven! Yummers!!! One thing I did do was before I baked it I toasted the walnuts then I sprinkled them over the cake. I have shared this recipe with four people so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Very nice! Just a tad bit on the sweet side, so next time I'll reduce the amount of sugar I add and cut back on the cake mix topping. The pumpkin mix on the bottom was very pie-like; and the topping had a nice crunch to it. We will do this one again---only less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Not so good! The pumpkin filling was great, but the topping was too sweet. I would have liked to have some type of bottom crust, but the topping was not at all what I was looking for. If I knew it was going to turn out like that I would have just made a pie. No one in my family liked it and I ended up throwing the entire cake (with the exception of 2 pieces) away. I was very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
There simply is no better use for pumpkin, it is unbelieveably delicious. I'm not exaggerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is four stars to me the way it's written, but I found a better way after making this a million times. It always bugged me to use so much margarine or butter on top, just to moisten the cake mix. But if i tried cutting back the amount of margarine, it turned out dry and yucky on top. So next i tried half a cup of margarine melted and 1/4 cup of water and that made it soggy and yucky too. So I tried softening only one stick of margarine in the microwave and then mixing it in the cake mix with a fork in a large bowl, like a streusel topping until it looked like coarse crumbs. Then sprinkle it with your fingers on top. It turned out looking much better and crumbly looking and nicely browned but saved half a stick of butter or margarine. It also improved the presentation appearance of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Delicious! I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and mixed in 1/2 cup flour into cake mix before pouring it over the top of pumpkin filling. Rave reviews from the ladies in our book club!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This has long been a favorite of our family and friends. One change that I learned from my Gram years ago is to use Butter Pecan cake mix instead of the yellow - that really makes it taste like a brown sugar type crisp topping. Yummy with fresh whipped cream on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I wasnt sure about the cake topping at first so i used only a little but it turned out to be very good. so next time i will do a thick layer of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States