Pumpkin Pie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This turned out great! I most definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Mushy and bland. Cake topping way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Really like it but made some pretty drastic changes: Halved the sugar; two eggs; 4t pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon; no salt; doubled the pecans and left whole; halved the butter (if you melt and "froth" the butter til slightly brown first, its taste is greatly enhanced); and used about 1/6 of a spice cake mix on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I found a recipe almost exactly the same in a school fundraiser cookbook, and it is, indeed, to die for! I don't like pumpkin pie, but I LOVE this, as does everyone who tries it! The only difference from this recipe is that the original called for pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. It makes for a more complex, pumpkin pie-ey flavor. I've lost the original recipe, so I'm going to have to make it to taste, and then update my review with a recommended substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
If you love pumpkin pie but hate soggy piecrust this is the one to try! I spice the filling with my own favorites...cinnamon, ginger and cloves. But omit the salt...I don't see why you need it. I would like to try other flavors of cake mix. Might be good with spice cake?? Definitely better served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I was given this recipe years ago from a close family friend! Absolutely, the most wonderful way to combine a pie and cake...I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolDiane Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
loved this I used spice cake mix instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leone A Monk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have made this several times. It is delicious. I also take a container of cool whip and mix in a little nutmeg and cinnamon to the cool whip to serve on top. AWESOME RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I didn't add the pecans, but maybe that would have helped. I did drizzle quite a bit of butter over the top, but every place that didn't get butter was just raw cake mix in the finished product. I thought it would soak up the pumpkin mixture. Maybe I should have patted it down into the pumpkin mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotspunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great flavor. Crust was very thick and difficult to cut without making a mess. Inverted onto a plate and took care of that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States