Pumpkin Pie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i made this because we accidently made too much mix for pumpkin pie, so instead of making 4 pumpkin pies we made some of this! it was good, but we didnt eat all of it, and ended up throwing half of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Never made anything with Pumpkin before. So I used canned pumpkin. I did use a little over 3/4 cup butter to make sure the cake batter wasn't too dry. This cake was to die for. Everyone loved it and none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. Love it more than real pumpkin pie. Followed recipe exactly except for cutting back on the butter. 3/4s of a cup seemed like too much so I cut out 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and was quite disappointed. I was skeptical about just sprinkling the cake mix and drizzling butter on top but I figured some magic must happen and it would bake up nice. It didn't. It was like bland pumpkin pie with dry cake mix on top. Maybe some people like the taste of straight cake mix, but no one at my dinner party ate more than a couple bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made recipe as stated and it was fantastic! Took it to an anniversary party not realizing there would be cake and ice cream so I thought it wouldn't be eaten... WRONG! Not a crumb was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe used twice the amt of pumpkin than a similar recipe my mom has and I really like the thicker pumpkin layer. Yum! I made it in 2 8x8 pans, giving one away and keeping one for here at home. I probably should have taken it out at 50 min, but let it in 5 min more, but it is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a great dessert! My family loved it and they are not afraid to tell me the truth! I used pumpkin pie filling from the can and added about 3/4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this dessert and got RAVE reviews. I followed some of the other reviewer's and added more cinammon (about a tsp) and added about 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie spice. We did wait more than one day to dig in and the wait was well worth it! I've already emailed this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was the first cake I ever made (I had to actually buy a 9 x 13 pan), and it came out perfect! I couldn't find yellow cake mix in precisely 18.25 oz so I used 16+ oz instead, and I didn't miss a thing. I also used 2 cups of cinnamon sugared pecans which I found at Whole Foods, and that added a lot to an already excellent recipe. I used 30 oz of pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling), and though I had been skeptical, it came out every bit as hedonistically yummy as I could imagine, and not too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Loved this recipe!! I used brown sugar instead of white, added about 1/8 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Instead of a yellow cake, I used a butter cake...IT WAS TO DIE FOR!!! Made several for a bake sale...didn't have any left over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellyvanilly01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States