Pumpkin Pie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Wish I could give this one six stars! I made one at Thanksgiving '06, since not everyone likes regular pies. My family adored it, and has since requested it several times. It has also made a great dish to take to any gathering with a lot of people, because the regular recipe makes a LOT of servings (like we measure the servings! Just plenty of dessert here!). I've not had anything but positive comments on it. One note - I made it once with a yellow butter cake mix - that made it so rich, it was almost too much. I'd stick with a regular yellow cake mix whenever possible. Easy, tasty and looks fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing this one - it is now a family favorite! (And I am making it again tomorrow for a birthday party! Most requested dessert I've ever had, besides my pecan pie!) Yummy just doesn't cut it for this one! You simply have to try it. If you like pumpkin pie at all in any way, you'll love this one. (And I didn't adjust the recipe at all - most need tweaking - this one is just wonderful as Patty P. wrote it up!) My family thanks you too! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was a family hit! Everyone told me to add this to my list of requested dishes for all family functions. Too my delight my daughter with no interest in cooking actually dove in and put this together. If you like pumpkin pie can't go wrong. I did make an adjustment to recover from my error. I had this recipe confused with another and had melted the butter for the topping. Just drizzled over the dry topping ingredients and it turned out, also added pecans to please my family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Excellent! I love the taste of pumkin but find pumpkin pie boring. This, however, is excellent! The filling was perfect, the crunchy topping was a perfect companion to the filling and the crust was great. I served it warm with real whipped cream that I sweetened only slightly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I had this recipe once and let someone borrow the original..never got it back!! Thank you for sharing. I have looked for a long time to find this Pumpkin Pie Cake with the botttom crust and crumbly topping. Being a Southern gal, I also use sweet potato in place of pumpkin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This is the most amazing stuff....when I made it I burned my mouth because I just couldn't wait for it to cool! I ate three pieces and was disappointed that I didn't have room for more...this one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was fantastic! I added pecans to the topping- about 3/4 C. That was the only change I made. We had it with cinnamon ice cream while it was still warm--yummy!! Some said it was the best dessert they ever had!Definitely easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read alot of reviews b4 making this recipe. i can't believe it got so many good reviews. For a 29 oz can of pumpkin, 1/2 cup of sugar was no way sweet enough for the filling..I had to add 1 cup of sugar and 13 cup of Stevia to get it sweet enough. There was also not enough evaporated milk for the ammt of pumpkin..I added the whole 12 oz can. I also had to add 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice to make the flavor better. The crust, after taking out 1 cup for the topping had way too much butter in it. I would have used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and it would have been plenty. The topping was a nice addition to the recipe. I added coconut and almonds to it and it was really good. It turned out great with my tweeks..but the recipe as written wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
A woman at my church made this last week for a potluck, and oh my stars . . . my friend and I could not stop raving about it! She emailed me the link to the recipe in an email that stated "this should be called Pumpkin Heaven!" So true! This is a rich and yummy dessert -- autumn on a plate! Can't wait to make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I was overall disappointed with this recipe. I felt the brown sugar overwhelmed every other flavor, including the pumpkin. This was good for a non-chocolate dessert choice, but won't be a requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I was looking for a good recipe using pumpkin and this is what I found. My husband and son loved it. We took some right out of the oven over to the neighbors house. They also loved it. The middle has the consistancy of pumpkin pie, and the crust is like a slightly crunchy cake. I added some chopped walnuts to the top. I may add nuts to the crust too next time for added crunch. I also added some nutmeg and ginger to the filling. I used butter instead of margarine. I cut back on both sugars and it was still plenty sweet enough. We had it with vanilla ice cream...it took some of the sting out of losing to the Yankee's last night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States