Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good, made it in Tri-Cities and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzjenn
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A great alternative to pumpkin pie! I followed the recipe (although I had two 15-ounce cans of pumpkin), and I only used 3/4 cup of butter. Oh, and I baked it in a silicone bundt pan. It turned out delicious! It is like pumpkin pie on a crumbly cake crust. Very good. It took around 70 minutes for it to be as close to done as I would risk (I didn't want the cake topping to burn), and it was still a little soft in the middle... But my husband scarfed it! His favourite part of our New Year's feast, and he's not a big dessert eater! Thanks for sharing, Rosie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I love pumpkin pie, so I was wondering how this would compare for me. I still prefer a traditional 'crust' with pumpkin filling(a pie), over this dessert, as do most of my guests. It was good, just not great imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A great alternative to pumpkin pie. I don't turn it over, but serve straight from the pan. The cake topping is surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was great. I made it in a bundt pan & cooked for 63 minutes which was perfect in my oven. Didn't use parchment paper, just Pam sprayed to coat the pan. Also only used 1/2 cup butter (probably because I used a different type of pan), but it was perfect. My husband looked at me like I was crazy when he saw me sprinkling the cake mix directly from the package onto the pumpkin filling. But at the end, he said it tasted like the perfect mix of pumpkin pie & coffee cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Love this recipe. I sifted the cake mix onto the pumpkin to take out any lumps before baking. Will use this at Thanksgiving!!! It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I changed this a bit, but not so much that I do not feel I can rate the original recipe. First, I added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I accidentally left the nutmeg out, but I will add it next time I make this. I spread the pumpkin part in the pan. After reading the reviews, I decided to mix the melted butter, the cake mix, and the chopped nuts (I used pecans) together rather than the drizzle method described in the instructions. Then, I carefully dropped the "crust" batter on top, and spread it out so it was even. After removing from the oven, I let the whole concoction cool over night, then flipped it over onto a cookie sheet, and spread a thick layer (about 1/2 inch thick) of cool whip on top. It was incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is delicious! I like it even more than pumpkin pie, my usual Thanksgiving favorite! I've made it several times now, sometimes flipping over as specified, and sometimes leaving right side up. I make it just as the recipe directs, except that I briefly toast the walnuts before using. One of my friends makes this every year as her holiday signature dish, and it gets rave reviews every time (I BEGGED her for the recipe!). Quick and easy, the perfect go-to dessert for Thanksgiving potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was merely okay, and could use a lot of improvement. The pumpkin layer was *very* pumpkin-y and bland. It definitely needed more spices and less pumpkin. I make two pumpkin pies at Thanksgiving and they call for one small can of pumpkin; this recipe uses an entire 29 oz. can. The crust was nice, but a little salty. Overall, everything was a nice consistency, but frankly I'll stick with my tried-and-true pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was very good! I used pecans instead of the walnuts... Didn't top it with anything, just ate it plain. Lots of recipe requests for this one from co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States