Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is an awesome cake to make in the Fall. The smell of the cake in the oven is just the beginning! This cake has the texture of a traditional pumpkin pie, but it is so much better! The only change that I made was using pecans rather than walnuts and I flipped the cake over and covered it with a cream cheese frosting. I thought that would make it too sweet, but everyone loved it. The next time I make it, I am going to just dust it with confectioners sugar. This cake is also very easy to make. I am going to make it again very soon. Everyone at my work party raved over this cake and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dessert, and loved it, and so did everyone else. We made the recipe exactly as listed, except for using a spice cake mix. Topped with whip cream. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is the second year I have made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. So easy and not too sweet. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
great flavor! the crust was too thick for us....next time I will cut the cake mix in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
An absolute hit! I was surprise that such an easy recipe made such a hit, other desserts weren't even touched but this one! The only thing I did different was I used fresh pureed pumpkin than canned. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This recipe it too good. I love it! I made this a few times and everybody raved over it. I made a few changes though: I used all pecans on top and I didn't bother to flip it over. I used a cinnamon cake mix as well, and to simplify I used 4 tsp pumpkin spice. The second time I made this I put in in two 8x8 pans and cooked for less time so I could take it to two diff events which worked great. Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I have to say that I had no idea what to expect as I am not a baker but love to cook. I took this dessert to a business luncheon meeting. There was one piece left on the plate... need I say more! It was simple and quick to put together; it disappeared more quickly. I call that success! I'll do this one over and over until I get it right! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This cake was very good, but plan to eat it within two days of cooking it. We found that it got soggy on the third day. It is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did't like this recipe at all!!! It was very bland and a waste of ingredients !! I would of been better off making a Pumpkin Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My friend made this with a cream cheese and cool whip icing. It was great! Does anyone have a recipe for that icing to go on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSLIB5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States