Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bankergrl1976
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is an awesome cake to make in the Fall. The smell of the cake in the oven is just the beginning! This cake has the texture of a traditional pumpkin pie, but it is so much better! The only change that I made was using pecans rather than walnuts and I flipped the cake over and covered it with a cream cheese frosting. I thought that would make it too sweet, but everyone loved it. The next time I make it, I am going to just dust it with confectioners sugar. This cake is also very easy to make. I am going to make it again very soon. Everyone at my work party raved over this cake and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bankergrl1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dessert, and loved it, and so did everyone else. We made the recipe exactly as listed, except for using a spice cake mix. Topped with whip cream. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is the second year I have made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. So easy and not too sweet. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
great flavor! the crust was too thick for us....next time I will cut the cake mix in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
An absolute hit! I was surprise that such an easy recipe made such a hit, other desserts weren't even touched but this one! The only thing I did different was I used fresh pureed pumpkin than canned. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This recipe it too good. I love it! I made this a few times and everybody raved over it. I made a few changes though: I used all pecans on top and I didn't bother to flip it over. I used a cinnamon cake mix as well, and to simplify I used 4 tsp pumpkin spice. The second time I made this I put in in two 8x8 pans and cooked for less time so I could take it to two diff events which worked great. Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I have to say that I had no idea what to expect as I am not a baker but love to cook. I took this dessert to a business luncheon meeting. There was one piece left on the plate... need I say more! It was simple and quick to put together; it disappeared more quickly. I call that success! I'll do this one over and over until I get it right! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This cake was very good, but plan to eat it within two days of cooking it. We found that it got soggy on the third day. It is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did't like this recipe at all!!! It was very bland and a waste of ingredients !! I would of been better off making a Pumpkin Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My friend made this with a cream cheese and cool whip icing. It was great! Does anyone have a recipe for that icing to go on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSLIB5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States