Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is one yummy dessert. I used the cake mixture on the bottom as a crust as others suggested. It was very good, but I might try it as stated in the recipe. My "crust" tended to bubble up and form waves instead of staying an even layer. If I try this again... and I'm sure I'll try it again... i'll only use half of the cake mixture since I loved the pumpkin taste and would have liked a little more of that yummy pumpkin in each bite. This is an easy and tasty dessert that I'd reccoment to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have heard this referred to as 'pumpkin dump' - i hate that name! This cake is really good - i like it better than pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Everything was perfect! I used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar, as well as a yellow cake mix that was low-fat and sweetened with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a keeper. If you hate using the pie shells or playing with dough--this is for you. I added a little cinnamon to the cake mix topping--just to make sure we could taste that comfort taste.! I call my son pumpkin man all the time(3 1/2 years)---today I made this and he LOVED eating this because it was called PUMPKIN too, but yummy enough for kids of all ages!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Made this last night for a crowd of 9. Everyone raved. I spiced with 3 tsp. cinnamon, and 3/4 tsp each of ginger, cloves and nutmeg. Also used brown sugar instead of white (and pulp from cooked sweetie pie pumpkin). Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is by far one of my favorite pumpkin desserts and it is soo easy. Everytime I make it all I hear is "oh my goodness I have to have the recipe" If you like pumpkin you will love this recipe. I prefer pecans so I use them. I also use the smaller can of pumpkin but keep everything else the same. I ran across this recipe using the smaller can of pumpkin but everything else the same in a Southern Living cookbook and it was excellent. Especially good for those that like the topping more than the filling!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used pumpkin pie filling and the pumpkin itself was a little bland. I will definitely add more spices next time and a bit more sugar. It was just not as spicy as I wanted but I will try next time to add more spices because I really prefer this to regular pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Great Taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My sister and I don't like pastry pie crust so I made this for thanksgiving dessert instead of traditional pumpkin pie. My aunt had three pieces and my nephew said it was the best pumpkin pie he's ever had! As suggested I added cinnamon (1tsp) baked it for a little over an hour, but left out the nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States