Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is so wonderful and easy. I live in Mexico now and last holiday season I made this in small loaf pans, gave some to my Mexican landlords and they loved it. Will be making again soon. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanneb61

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was a taste of heaven. I swear, if I could, I would eat the whole darned cake. My family just loved it. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by writersam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Thank goodness for recipes like this so I can make a quick dessert for a gathering with items I already have in my pantry. I found it's easily bendable to what you have on hand. I cut back the pumpkin pie spice to a heaping teaspoon and a half, as I didn't want the flavor to be too strong. I also added an additional egg as the other reviewers did. I cut back the sugar to a half cup as I didn't want it to be sickeningly sweet. I did not have yellow cake mix but I did have butter cake mix so I used that instead. This is going to be dessert for family dinner tonight so I'll update my review once everyone's had a chance to dig in. EDITED: Even though I cut back the sugar, I thought it was really quite sweet. Everyone else loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
So easy and amazing. Great all year round, I like it best chilled or at room temp. No one at a potluck expects this and it's always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe received mixed reviews at my house for Thanksgiving. My husband liked it, my mother thought it was okay, and I did not like it. I thought it was much too sweet, and I did not like the crumb topping at all (I used a spice cake mix). I followed the recommendations of a few others and used the Libby's pie mix and cut out the sugar, salt and spice. I am not sure whether using canned pumpkin and adding the sugar and spices would have been better, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I just tried this "cake" for an afternoon get together with friends. It was a hit! My guests raved about it and wanted the receipe. This is a great holiday dessert that will easily become a tradition. Instead of yellow cake mix, I used a spice cake mix that I had on hand and didn't add any additional spices. It makes it that much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Maybe with a different cake flavor this would have been okay but I threw most of it out..the bottom pumpkin layer was really good and just like pumpkin pie but the cake layer tasted ok on the first bite but as you went on it was almost bitter ..I felt it should have had sugar in it or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this wonderful dessert and took it to both my workplace and my husbands and got rave reviews on it. It is so easy to make and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is excellent. I would only do one thing different.I make a dump cake recipe that is the same concept, except that you slice two sticks of butter and place the slices on top of the cake mix and nuts and then bake. This would take care of the areas that do not get butter/stay dry. Next time I will do that and it will be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie Nazario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this exactly as written. Instead of canned puree I used actual puree I made. The reason I gave this three stars instead of four was this~ I wish there were a way to make this cake look more appetizing! Every time I make it I always come home with more than half of the cake~ and it's not due to taste. It's because it just doesn't look appetizing. I wonder what I can do to make it look different? The taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States