Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I love pumpkin pie, and this is a great twist. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to mix the cake mix and butter together before topping on the pumpkin mixture. I loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Wow! This was so yummy! Made it as a Thanksgiving dessert and everybody loved it! Great with whip cream to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Hong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was a big hit at our Christmas party! Everyone raved! I was a little nervous about using the whole box of cake mix, it seemed too much but it worked out great. I used 1 c. melted butter( I had a similar recipe that used that amount) and used a tablespoon to evenly cover the topping. Very important to cover all dry spots. I baked for 55 min. and it was too long in my oven, I will bake less next time. Watch so it doesn't burn from all the butter. Great recipe and easy. Got more requests to make again for Xmas eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I am one of those who loves the pumpkin pie filling, but scrapes it out of the pie shell, since I'm not that fond of the crust. The topping is delicious. Hadn't thought to make a "dump cake" out of pumpkin. This is upside-down pumpkin pie, only better, since it has such a wonderful topping. It was a big hit at Thanksgiving, and I am already making it again for another get-together this weekend. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This recipe is okay, but I found the topping to be too sweet, as most cake mixes are. Also, you'll coat the dry mix more evenly if you mix it with the melted butter before sprinkling. Not a bad recipe, certainly easier than pie, but I'd go for a slightly less sweet/greasy topping, more like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I tried this over the holidays and it was simply awesome! After reading the reviews, I decided to take some advice and use Libby's pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin, sugar and spices. I also used a butter pecan flavored cake mix. My version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix, 4 -beaten eggs, 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk, 1 box of dry butter pecan cake mix, 1 cup melted butter, 1 cup chopped nuts. Not at all healthy, but truly a 5 star recipe for taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I served this to my husband's family who said they weren't big pumpkin fans; his brother ate nearly 1/2 the cake himself! I used pecans and it was great. It's good with either whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I have made this quite a bit- it is my favorite- however I have found using Libby's pumpkin pie mix and eliminating the sugar and spices is much easier! Here is my version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix 4 -beaten eggs 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk 1 box of dry yellow cake mix 1 cup melted margarine 1 cup chopped nuts This is truly a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
We make this delicious dessert every fall, it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
What an easy dessert. Made it for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and everybody loved it. Great crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States