Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I have made this quite a bit- it is my favorite- however I have found using Libby's pumpkin pie mix and eliminating the sugar and spices is much easier! Here is my version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix 4 -beaten eggs 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk 1 box of dry yellow cake mix 1 cup melted margarine 1 cup chopped nuts This is truly a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I tried this over the holidays and it was simply awesome! After reading the reviews, I decided to take some advice and use Libby's pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin, sugar and spices. I also used a butter pecan flavored cake mix. My version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix, 4 -beaten eggs, 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk, 1 box of dry butter pecan cake mix, 1 cup melted butter, 1 cup chopped nuts. Not at all healthy, but truly a 5 star recipe for taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I love pumpkin pie, and this is a great twist. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to mix the cake mix and butter together before topping on the pumpkin mixture. I loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Thanks to the person that posted this recipe. I might have kept it a secret if it were mine. ;o) I made this two nights in a row...once for a Thanksgiving party at work and once for Thanksgiving dinner the following day. If you think baking a cake one night and then starting again and baking it the next night sounds like a lot of work you're mistaken. This cake takes 10 minutes tops to throw together--very easy! I can't even begin to tell you how much people at both events raved about this cake! There wasn't a single leftover piece either day. Sooooo delicious! I will make it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this for a church Supper and I took some 'hints' and I used half of a carrot cake mix, added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Used all of the butter and then I combined over a cup of both walnuts and pecans PLUS some coconut and made a good stresudel type topping and it won 'rave reviews'! This was definitely a WINNER. Thanks, CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I have made this 3 times and each time it was wonderful even using low fat ingredients. Try using different cake mixes as spice and caramel work really well with pumpkin. I will try carrot cake next time. You can even use 1/2 the cake mix and use the rest for muffins. You have to make sure the cake mix all gets wet. I am taking this along with traditional pumpkin pie for TG. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I love this recipe. I had a an alternate version that states to flip the cake upside down after it cools and top the cake with a frosting made of 1 pkg. cream cheese, 1/2 c, powdered suger, and 1 cup (or more) of cool whip. Upside down the cake can be served as dessert bars, I sprinkle the frosting with a few more chopped walnuts to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. My family prefers this over regular pumpkin pie. I always use spice cake mix instead of yellow cake mix and serve with lots of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
i don't really ever like pumpkin pie, but this was pretty darn good! My roommates thought that it was terrific though- especially warm with ice cream. I didn't put the nuts on top, but there were macadamia nuts in the ice cream that I used- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOODOOCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made this with my six year old son. It was easy and not very messy. This was a big hit at our thanksgiving dinner. I had to write down the recipe many times. The only problem I ran into was that the baking time was a little off. I think it needs a little more than 1 hour. Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States