Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is sooo yummy! I used whole wheat flour, reduced some ingredients to.. 2 c sugar, 1/2 c oil, and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
loved this recipe. I was looking for lower calories and couldn't see using 3 cups of sugar. I cut it to under two cups, cut eggs to 3, 3/4 cup oil. I weakened and added 1/2 cup walnuts.well it turned out great! Next time I am going to cut more sugar and egg and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I cut this recipe in half to make 12 muffins instead of one loaf. I did lighten it up and health it up a bit. I used whole wheat flour, 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1/4 cup homemade organic applesauce, two egg whites in place of one egg and brewed unsweetened chai in place of the plain water. I did sprinkle just a touch of brown sugar over the top just to make them a little prettier. These took about 20 minutes in a 350* oven and they came out perfect. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is fantastic! My husband is super picky so I wasn't sure if he would eat it, but he ate both loaves and asked me to make more :) I had no eggs, so I used 1 cup of applesauce and increased the baking powder to 2 tsp. It came out so moist and we didn't even miss the eggs, so I'm just not going to put them in anymore. Also, I added another shake or two of pumpkin pie spice, because it is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this just as the recipe directed and my review is based on doing just that, with no changes. I found this to be moist (but really, how often do you come across a dry pumpkin bread, especially with a cup of oil?), pretty, and with the compact but tender crumb you'd expect. It also had a deep, pumpkin color. Choosing this recipe was merely for the reason that it called for less spice than I'm used to, and no nuts or raisins. I wanted to try something different. Unfortunately, pretty loaf as it is, a loaf that admittedly turns out perfectly, it is only mildly pumpkin flavored, and only mildly spiced. In a word, it's basically kind of blah. Moist, beautiful, but blah. Amp up the spices, or add raisins, craisins, nuts or SOMETHING, and this could easily be improved to at least 4-star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent, enjoyed every bite of it. warm with whip, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
fiance said it was the best bread i had ever made. so moist and so delicious, will need to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
very good and very moist. took some to dorothy and jean. jean called to say it was excellent. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My rating is based on a few changes I made, but I'm sure the original recipe is wonderful too! I use whole wheat flour to make it healthier and half applesauce/half oil. I also like to cut down on the sugar, but use orange juice instead of the water. As suggested by other reviewers I also increase the spices slightly. The bread turns out moist and very flavorful! My whole family loves it, kids included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I did several healthier modifications, and this was fantastic (I'm sure it would have been great as written too, but I wanted to be able to enjoy it without so much guilt!) :) I replaced all of the oil with about 1 1/4 c. unsweetened apple sauce, used 3 eggs and 1/3 c. egg whites and used 1.5 c. sugar and 1.5 c. Splenda. I would have used at least 1/2 whole wheat flour if I'd had it, but I was out. This came out perfecty - nice density, chewy and very moist! I added an extra dash of seasoning too for a little extra pumpkin spice zing. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States