Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
STOP! Before you add a whole cup of super fattening oil....use a cup or more of unsweetened applesauce. I rate this 5 stars! I did the applesauce substitution and also used whole wheat pastry flour. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups (I used cane juice) and dang if these healthier adjustments didn't make it moist and fabulously better for you! I can never justify adding over a 1/4 c. oil to anything baked. The kids loved it. The dogs loved it. And most importantly I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
650 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
The bread turned out great. I ended up having to bake it at a lower temp for a little longer because it was getting burned on the outside and still raw on the inside. A tip for those who don't have pumpkin pie spice, you can make your own that works just great for this recipe. 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice = 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 3/8 tsp allspice (or cloves), 3/4 tsp ground ginger, and 3/8 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is delicious! I used 5.75" X 3.25" pans (for gifts). The recipe made 6 gift loaves and they were a HUGE hit! For the smaller pans, I baked them for 20 minutes, then covered them with foil and baked another 20-25 mintues. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was pretty good pumpkin bread though I think it needs more spices. I combined the recommendations of others and used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I also used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil. It made two loaves(8.5X4.5 pans) plus 6 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
this was my first time making homemade bread & it was great! i would definitely recommend this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I felt it needed a little more pumpkin flavor, but the texture was wonderful and stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
my son who is 15 made this recipie for his foods class. They all loved it and he said it was really fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this just as the recipe directed and my review is based on doing just that, with no changes. I found this to be moist (but really, how often do you come across a dry pumpkin bread, especially with a cup of oil?), pretty, and with the compact but tender crumb you'd expect. It also had a deep, pumpkin color. Choosing this recipe was merely for the reason that it called for less spice than I'm used to, and no nuts or raisins. I wanted to try something different. Unfortunately, pretty loaf as it is, a loaf that admittedly turns out perfectly, it is only mildly pumpkin flavored, and only mildly spiced. In a word, it's basically kind of blah. Moist, beautiful, but blah. Amp up the spices, or add raisins, craisins, nuts or SOMETHING, and this could easily be improved to at least 4-star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jack
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The plan was to give one loaf away and keep one for our family...we ate it all and figured it was a good thing we never told the neighbors about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this recipe (and tripled it) for school and got nothing but rave reviews. It was easy and it tasted great! Instead of 2 loaf pans however, I made it into bundt pan size adn the cooking time was still right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States