Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
STOP! Before you add a whole cup of super fattening oil....use a cup or more of unsweetened applesauce. I rate this 5 stars! I did the applesauce substitution and also used whole wheat pastry flour. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups (I used cane juice) and dang if these healthier adjustments didn't make it moist and fabulously better for you! I can never justify adding over a 1/4 c. oil to anything baked. The kids loved it. The dogs loved it. And most importantly I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
684 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
The bread turned out great. I ended up having to bake it at a lower temp for a little longer because it was getting burned on the outside and still raw on the inside. A tip for those who don't have pumpkin pie spice, you can make your own that works just great for this recipe. 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice = 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 3/8 tsp allspice (or cloves), 3/4 tsp ground ginger, and 3/8 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is delicious! I used 5.75" X 3.25" pans (for gifts). The recipe made 6 gift loaves and they were a HUGE hit! For the smaller pans, I baked them for 20 minutes, then covered them with foil and baked another 20-25 mintues. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was pretty good pumpkin bread though I think it needs more spices. I combined the recommendations of others and used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I also used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil. It made two loaves(8.5X4.5 pans) plus 6 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
this was my first time making homemade bread & it was great! i would definitely recommend this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this just as the recipe directed and my review is based on doing just that, with no changes. I found this to be moist (but really, how often do you come across a dry pumpkin bread, especially with a cup of oil?), pretty, and with the compact but tender crumb you'd expect. It also had a deep, pumpkin color. Choosing this recipe was merely for the reason that it called for less spice than I'm used to, and no nuts or raisins. I wanted to try something different. Unfortunately, pretty loaf as it is, a loaf that admittedly turns out perfectly, it is only mildly pumpkin flavored, and only mildly spiced. In a word, it's basically kind of blah. Moist, beautiful, but blah. Amp up the spices, or add raisins, craisins, nuts or SOMETHING, and this could easily be improved to at least 4-star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I felt it needed a little more pumpkin flavor, but the texture was wonderful and stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
my son who is 15 made this recipie for his foods class. They all loved it and he said it was really fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jack
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The plan was to give one loaf away and keep one for our family...we ate it all and figured it was a good thing we never told the neighbors about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this recipe (and tripled it) for school and got nothing but rave reviews. It was easy and it tasted great! Instead of 2 loaf pans however, I made it into bundt pan size adn the cooking time was still right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States