Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great flavor. I followed the recipe as stated. I think for my oven it needed to bake at a lower temperature for longer time. I baked my loaves for about 70 - 75 minutes and the outside got dark and slightly crusty. It still turned out great though. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Amazing bread! I have made it 4 times now, and it never lasts long in my house. I usually half the recipe, which makes 1-2 loaves. I add more pumpkin pie spice, and a little cinnamon too. I tried another user's tip of applesauce, but it wasn't as good as the original version. Tip: Dont fill the loaf pan more than halfway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used the Pumpkin Pie Spice I recipe for the pumpkin spice. I took the advice of a reviewer on there and added 1/4 tsp cloves to that blend--and it's more clovey than I like. I think next time I will make the recipe as stated. So, back to this recipe. As advised by other reviewers, I doubled the spices to 6 tsp, and the pumpkin as well (two 15oz cans vs. one can). I also eliminated the oil entirely, exchanged one cup of white sugar for a cup of brown, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce, and baked for 70 minutes. It came out so perfectly that I'm surprised a blue ribbon didn't materialize on the pan the second it came out of the oven. A perfect chewy crust and a very dense and tender crumb, just WOW. Gorgeous. I'm giving it 5 stars based on that, even though the flavor isn't quite there for me (I'm sure people who like a little more cloves than I do would be delighted with it). Once I tweak my spice blend to my own preference, I bet it will be absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
delicious recipe, easy, mistake proof, my eleven year old daughter baked this, and it came out perfect, it did take the full time to bake, and it does make two loaves so the eggs, sugar and oil can be justified. We would definitely use this recipe again, it makes the house smell so good when it is baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Bread came out moist and pretty dense, I subbed half the oil for applesauce, and it definitely held up. It does taste like pumpkin pie, will use whenever I have leftover canned pumpkin for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
very good! I did as other reviews said and froze it (everyone said it was better after being frozen). It was just a tad bit dry for my taste but that could just be me? I will keep this and make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
added almost double spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was the best ever! I did also put applesauce instead of the oil. And I only put 1 cup of whit sugar and 1/2 of brown sugar. and add a little more spices then it calles for , The same ones, But doubled it . then on top before I put in the oven I melted a stick of butter and put some cinn, nuts, brown sugar, mixed well sprinked on top . baked O Man THIS WAS A HIT!!!!!!!YUM,YUM (:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wish I had read more reviews before making this. It definitely needs more spice and nuts or raisins or something. I actually added pecans but kept the rest of the recipe exact. It's okay but banana bread is better. Perhaps with more spices or frosting or something it will be a bigger hit. Wish I had made another pumpkin pie instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States