Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Very bland and dry, would not recommend using the 5x3 pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dezelin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Making the recipe as originally directed. it was fine, but I am really trying to cut the extra oil/fat from my diet, so I used the modifications from user Limniade above, and once I tweak the spices to my liking, it will be amazing! The only change I made, is that I added 2tbsp bourbon into the batter. It's part of how my dad always made pumpkin pie, and I really like the taste vs pumpkin things made without it. It's definitely better the second day, and even without any sugary topping, it is great!! I'm thinking the next time I might add some nuts or berries, or maybe substitute apple cider for the water. Lots of opportunities to play!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
It was so moist and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta Chhom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kennedy2588
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This bread is delicious. I thought I over-cooked mine but it still came out moist and full of flavor. Very fast and easy to make. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this twice! My rule for trying out new recipes is to make exactly like the recipe is written so I can review the actual recipe and not my changes to a recipe. As written this recipe is a true winner. I did halve the recipe since I could only find one of my loaf pans, but there's only two of us so that's not necessarily a bad thing. The second run I added pecans to the batter and sprinkled the top with raw sugar that retains it's crunchiness after baking. The recipe was still wonderful and a bit more unique. I would suggest that if you are sprinkling with the sugar to make in a muffin tin as it was a little harder to slice and keep the topping in place. My gas oven has convection bake so I cooked at the stated temp but needed to add an additional 10 minutes. This is normal for my oven so not a big deal. The loaf came out nice and chewy on the outside and very moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Just finished putting in oven. I also modified this recipe. I replaced the canola oil for olive oil. So I will see what happens. I love this recipe because it's simple. In the oven in 30 minutes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious and moist! Made a couple minor changes based off others reviews: used 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 20 oz fresh pumpkin puree, 1 c. white sugar, 2 c. light brown sugar and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top before putting in oven to give a little extra sweetness to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Simoncelli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I've replaced part of the oil as a top review suggested, but it was too sweet and dense..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stellouni Mantik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I didn't have any pumpkin but I had an enormous butternut squash, so I cooked that mashed it and substituted it for the pumpkin. I added a bit more spice because I like it that way. The kids and their friends loved it. Good thing I made 3 loaves. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Fabulous! Substituted 1 1/2c Equal for the white sugar and apple pie spice blend for the pumpkin pie spice. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loviems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States