Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Solid recipe. Bread came out perfectly moist, however there wasn't nearly as much flavor as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I tweaked it a bit, but it turned out great! And yes, you really do want to wait overnight before you try it. It gets a nice, moist quality after about 12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesses_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very moist, no butter or anything needed with this one. Thanks for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is really good. I use fresh pumpkin puree & add an extra tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. It makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wow! I took the advice of several others and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I did half whole wheat flour and half white. I added ground flax seed too. I used one cup brown sugar and one cup white instead of 3 c white. My house smells so good! The bread is yummy! I kept one mini loaf and gave four away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I had trouble baking this. After an hour, the outside was brown and rock-hard, but the inside was still gooey and raw. I upped the pumpkin and the spices. It tastes good, but I wish it would have baked up a little nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I tried this, substituting oil with applesauce (calls for a lot of oil!). Next time I'll cut down on the sugar. The applesauce was unsweetened, but I think it still made the bread overall a little too sweet. Good and moist, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this mostly by the exact recipe but because so many people said to use applesauce instead of oil I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce. Also, because a number of people indicated to add extra spices because it wasn't very pumpkin-y I added an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a couple of dashes of nutmeg and cinnoman. I cooked it at 375 for 65 minutes (I have a gas stove so most of my cooking requires higher temps) and the bread came out nice. Looked pretty and smelled wonderful. Now for the bad - it REALLY did NOT taste like anything. The spices gave it a wonderful aroma but this bread really did not have a good taste or flavor. It was too bad because with the great smell I was looking forward to a tasty bread but this did not meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellant. Moist great flavor. Made 4 big breads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
VERY GOOD...nice fall flavor...I scaled the recipe to 3/4 and only used two eggs, 1/4 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce, and the whole can of pumpkin...this was SO moist...could use even more pumpkin and a little more spice...thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States