Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed other reviewers' advice and used condensed milk in lieu of regular milk, and I included pecans in the topping. However, it took much longer than the suggested 45 - 50 minutes for it to be finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These were absolutely awesome! A huge hit around the house, and I can't wait to make more. I took the recommendations of the reviewers and added sugar to the mixture. About 1/2c. of sugar does the trick, and it's sweet and perfect. I didn't see any need to add pumpkin pie spice as I already had it. To me this is more of a harvest breakfast 'coffee cake' type recipe, so the spice didn't seem to fit in. But I highly recommend this recipe. I'm making some for Thanksgiving breakfast for my relatives. I'll let you know how it comes out. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
So good! Had a can of pumpkin pie filling, and did a recipe search to see how I might use and found this recipe. I like to make desserts from scratch, but this was part of a party menu, so I loved that it used a box cake mix and was simple to make. I added a handful of chopped walnuts to the topping. Lots of guest compliments, and no one woud guess it was so easy to make. I was worried about some of the other reviewers comments about them not setting up. Mine were fine, but I did chill them just in case. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Oh my goodness......very dangerous. Definately a diet buster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These are EXCELLENT! I modified the recipe as suggested (I used a 30 oz can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix and no extra sugar or spices, and the evaporated milk.) But the title is misleading.. .they are not really "BARS." They firmed up a little after being in the fridge overnight, but still...you kinda need a fork to eat these (or be willing to lick your fingers!) If you are looking for bars - something you can eat with your hands - this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is just ok, I was looking for a quick and easy version of a recipe I already have. I'll stick with my original recipe. This was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Wow, these are really good. I used Butter Pecan cake mix, 2/3 cup Evaporated Milk and sprinkled pecans over the top before baking for an hour. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Used fresh pumpkin and had to load it with spices and sugar to taste well with the yellow cake mix. Good recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Not really a fan of this recipe. They're too mushy for my taste. I baked them for an extra 10 minutes and still didn't firm up enough. They're better after they've been in the refrigerator. It helped them set a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My Fiance And My Kids Really like This Recipe, I Just Made It Tonight, I Had Some Yellow cake Mix And He Said He Was Tired Of Cake, So I Found This Recipe It Just Came Out The Oven About A Half Hour Ago And My Fiance And My Kids Want Me To make It Again.They Ate It All, I Didnt Even Get To Try It. But I Guess It Was Good, They Said It Deserves 5 Stars, But I Didnt Use All The Pumpkin Mix Felt Like It Was Way To Much, Thank You For This Lovely Recipe, I Will Make This Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States