Pumpkin-Pecan Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. This was very good and easy to make. I ate some warm and some cooled, it tastes best when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is an ideal recipe for company, just be sure they like pumpkin. This is an easy, very attractive dessert that you can make in very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I decided to make this recipe to bring in fall! My husband doesn't really care for pumpkin and he thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made this for my brother-in-law who is allergic to nuts and his vegan wife, so I left out the pecans and eggs. I skipped the icing (to make it vegan) and dusted it with powdered sugar. The recipe still turned out very well! Perfect vegan recipe for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I liked this. It didn't so much remind me of a pastry, as I just consider them lighter and more crispy. However, it was like a handheld pumpkin pie in flavor and texture. Make sure to have a measuring tape on hand as I needed it to measure the square, to mark where the filling goes and to do the same thing with cutting the strips. I found a sharp knife worked best for that over scissors also. Make sure to close the perforations well or they will tear open when crossing the strips. The whipped egg white on top and the icing were nice decorative touches. I put the icing on after it cooled on a rack for 5 minutes. It was the perfect consistency with the portions suggested for milk and powdered sugar. If truth be told, the pecans on top are not needed. The icing hardens to quickly for them to stick and they cover the pretty icing and dough design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wow! So easy, delicious, and looks like something I would have bought at a bakery! But I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by helenbu
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I used ready rolled puff pastry as it was more like the pecan Danish recipe I have been looking for, the rest of the recipe was made exactly as stated. They were perfect and didn't last until the next day as they were so good. I made 6 quite large Danish pastries, I could've made 12 smaller if you are able to resist them but we would've just ended up eating 2 in one go as they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helenbu

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This turned out beautifully, and I received compliments on the dish. I made the recipe exactly as directed, and I found that it would be helpful to lightly dust the pan with a little flour before placing the dough in the pan. This would keep the dough strips from sticking to the pan after cutting, and then tearing when lifted to twist. Even though pumpkin is not one of my personal favorites, this was tasty and a nice presentation. This would also work with some apple pie filling, I think, by leaving out the egg, sugar and spices. One can of pumpkin would easily be enough for two braids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I will definitely make this again! Very quick and easy and a delicious quick breakfast to throw together on the weekend. You could do this for a crowd in no time flat. I used the seamless crescent dough, substituted pumpkin pie spice for the spices (1-1/2 tsp), didn't mix the nuts into the pumpkin, just sprinkled a few walnuts (chopped & toasted) on top and instead of milk, used maple syrup in the glaze. There are only two of us in the house and this was gone in no time flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was easy to make and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States