Pumpkin Pecan Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was easy and very good. On the second batch I cut down on the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. as I'm not fond of nutmeg and added 1/4 tsp. of cloves (my favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
use an electric knife for sliceing works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This makes way too much dough for only 2 logs 10" X 2" each! Mine turned out about 10" X 6" each and made 30 cookies. I didn't have parchment, so I used waxed paper instead, which made them very moist on the bottom. I would like to have instructions on how to know when they are done. The one other time I made biscotti, I noticed it seemed rather heavy, so I added a pinch more baking powder to this recipe and liked the results. I noticed when they were baking there wasn't much aroma, and found they didn't have much pumpkin flavor, but were good anyway. I might try cutting back to one egg and adding another 1/4 cup pumpkin next time. Not sure how that would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Delicious! Makes a nice, hard biscotti that stands up to dipping. The spices were perfect. A great recipe for using that last bit of leftover pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I tried this recipe as it sounded very interesting and I make biscotti all the time coming from an Italian family. I found it to be very dry and no flavor at all. I was very disappointed and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I did as one reviewer suggested and used 1 cup pumpkin and only one egg. Since I only used one egg I used 2 teaspoons baking powder. I also added 1/4 tea cloves since I love them. Another reviewer said it made too much dough. I got two logs that were 8" X3".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 1 c pumpkin and 1 egg with the baking powder as suggested-- with some additional spices, I found this biscotti to still be very bland, as stated by another reviewer.... there's not enough of anything and I couldn't find a way to save this with toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Only good served the same day. Added dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These were good, but not great. I really enjoyed the flavor and the pecans added a nice touch, but there was something odd about the texture. After they came out of the oven I tried one and it had a consistency almost like play-dough, kind of dry and chewy, which makes me think that there was too much flour. I'll definitely make these again, but will play around with the measurements of dry vs. wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hopper
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I just got done making this. Delicious! First from-scratch bakery item (outside of home-ec) It was a success in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States