Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this tonight and with a few minor tweaks, mine turned out fabulous! My advice: START WITH A ROUX as others have suggested. I melted some butter, sauteed diced garlic and onion, added some flour, and then whisked in the broth and milk (I used equal parts broth and milk - makes it more creamy). Add pumpkin and bring to a simmer. I didn't want mine to taste like pumpkin pie, so instead of the cloves and cinnamon, I added white pepper and cayenne pepper. These two really rounded out the savory flavor and gave it just a hint of heat. Also, plenty of grated parmesan cheese! I didn't want to stop eating it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! I could eat it everyday it was THAT good! Even my DS said I should make this at thanksgiving. I love pumpkin ravioli and this just reminded me of it kind of inside out. I can't wait to try the sauce with cheese tortellini! I made a 16 ounce box of pasta and it is all gone! no left overs! Thank you for a great recipe. will treasure this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Good, not great. I also thought the sauce should be a bit creamer. Mine came out a bit soupy. However, it was easy, good, healthy, and inexpensive. Definitely worth a try, and you might love it. My mother could not get enough of it and thought it was fantastic. I used minced onion instead of onion powder and olive oil in place of the margarine. I think if I made this again, I would start with a roux as one of the other reviewers suggested. I could see kids liking this as it has a mild flavor. I also increased the servings to 8, which called for a full pound of pasta, a full can of pumpkin, and 2 cups of broths -- much easier measurements. I don't know why the recipe is written for 3 people. Seems like a odd number and throws all the measurements into odd amounts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yum! This was very good! I used some fresh pumpkin puree that I had in the freezer - and I think I may have used more than what was called for. I added a little ground sage, just because I love it with pumpkin or squash, and extra parmesan. This could easily be made more decadent with cream or butter - maybe starting with a roux for the sauce - but I appreciate that this is a pretty healthy dish as stated! Thanks, ConnorsMom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Mmmm, so good.. I used a tablespoon of butter and doubled most of the spices (probably tripled the nutmeg) as per others' suggestions. Served with shells instead of penne so as to really soak up the flavour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to work out, but it didn't. The sauce was way too soupy. I would recommend making a roux before if you are daring enough to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was really bland. It didn't really taste like anything to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was a great way to use up extra pumpkin and make a low-cost meal with things I generally have in my pantry. After reading reviews I decided to add some caramelized onions to this. I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth, plain soymilk for the milk, cheddar for parmesan, and skipped the margarine and onion powder. Some reviewers have mentioned that this was too soupy. I cooked this down for a while and also added extra cheese which seemed to combat that issue. I will certainly make this again and would love to do so when I have some sage in the house to add to the sauce. It was almost like inside out pumpkin ravioli which is one of my favorite dishes when we go out to eat. I'm so glad I can get something close to it at home without a huge amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Love this! I made some alterations...I left out the margarine but used 2% milk. I also went a little heavier on the spices and added a tbs of brown sugar... I served over egg noodles and mixed in some cottage cheese....very satisfying lean dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this to serve tonight as a side dish to a roasted chicken. I read some of the other reviews and was worried about it being too thin or soupy as they refer to it. I decided to use evaporated milk instead of the skim. I use this in macaroni and cheese always for a creamier thicker result. I was also prepared to cut back on the broth. I made it as written only subbing evaporated milk for the skim and added about 2/3 of the broth. I let it simmer and it kept thickening, and I continued to add the broth. Eventually, I did add all that the recipe called for. As another reviewer suggested, I simmered it for longer, maybe 20 minutes, very slow simmer. With the evaporated milk and the longer simmer time it will get as thick you you want. Just simmer until you like the consistency. Very pleased with that. I doubled this, even though tonight it is for a side dish serving 2. It should be nice for tonight and some for lunch tomorrow, minus what I tasted. :) I used fettuccine, because I like it better. My husband usually prefers penne, but he's not home now and not cooking. Either would be nice. I tried it before adding the cheese, and didn't love it. The cheese needs to be there, even if you just add it to the top. It's a nice change from red sauce or Alfredo and very autumn-like. Thank you Connorsmom for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States