Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I should start out by saying that I adapted this a bit, based on other reviews, and while it was good, it still seemed to be missing something. Perhaps a bit more savory to counter the spices? I don't know. Here's what I did: I sauteed onion and diced ham prior to adding ht rest. I doubled the pumpkin, used 1 c. broth (already very liquidy!) and 1/4 cup milk, added 2 TB. of plain yogurt to amp up the creaminess, doubled the salt, pepper, and onion powder, and used 1/4 tsp. of cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger. I think it got a bit clove-y for my taste. Next time I'm going to keep working on the spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was way too bland. We ended up adding about double of the spices and it still needed extra cheese. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Good, not great. I also thought the sauce should be a bit creamer. Mine came out a bit soupy. However, it was easy, good, healthy, and inexpensive. Definitely worth a try, and you might love it. My mother could not get enough of it and thought it was fantastic. I used minced onion instead of onion powder and olive oil in place of the margarine. I think if I made this again, I would start with a roux as one of the other reviewers suggested. I could see kids liking this as it has a mild flavor. I also increased the servings to 8, which called for a full pound of pasta, a full can of pumpkin, and 2 cups of broths -- much easier measurements. I don't know why the recipe is written for 3 people. Seems like a odd number and throws all the measurements into odd amounts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Love this! I made some alterations...I left out the margarine but used 2% milk. I also went a little heavier on the spices and added a tbs of brown sugar... I served over egg noodles and mixed in some cottage cheese....very satisfying lean dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was very good, although I would have preferred a creamier consistency, it was a bit too "raw" tasting to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to work out, but it didn't. The sauce was way too soupy. I would recommend making a roux before if you are daring enough to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My kids really enjoyed this! Definitely a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
It was OK. I liked the fact that it was different, but I probably won't make it again. My 9-yr. old thought it was gross, then made a PB&J sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Absolutely loved it with a generous sprinkling of brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! I could eat it everyday it was THAT good! Even my DS said I should make this at thanksgiving. I love pumpkin ravioli and this just reminded me of it kind of inside out. I can't wait to try the sauce with cheese tortellini! I made a 16 ounce box of pasta and it is all gone! no left overs! Thank you for a great recipe. will treasure this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States