Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this tonight and with a few minor tweaks, mine turned out fabulous! My advice: START WITH A ROUX as others have suggested. I melted some butter, sauteed diced garlic and onion, added some flour, and then whisked in the broth and milk (I used equal parts broth and milk - makes it more creamy). Add pumpkin and bring to a simmer. I didn't want mine to taste like pumpkin pie, so instead of the cloves and cinnamon, I added white pepper and cayenne pepper. These two really rounded out the savory flavor and gave it just a hint of heat. Also, plenty of grated parmesan cheese! I didn't want to stop eating it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this to serve tonight as a side dish to a roasted chicken. I read some of the other reviews and was worried about it being too thin or soupy as they refer to it. I decided to use evaporated milk instead of the skim. I use this in macaroni and cheese always for a creamier thicker result. I was also prepared to cut back on the broth. I made it as written only subbing evaporated milk for the skim and added about 2/3 of the broth. I let it simmer and it kept thickening, and I continued to add the broth. Eventually, I did add all that the recipe called for. As another reviewer suggested, I simmered it for longer, maybe 20 minutes, very slow simmer. With the evaporated milk and the longer simmer time it will get as thick you you want. Just simmer until you like the consistency. Very pleased with that. I doubled this, even though tonight it is for a side dish serving 2. It should be nice for tonight and some for lunch tomorrow, minus what I tasted. :) I used fettuccine, because I like it better. My husband usually prefers penne, but he's not home now and not cooking. Either would be nice. I tried it before adding the cheese, and didn't love it. The cheese needs to be there, even if you just add it to the top. It's a nice change from red sauce or Alfredo and very autumn-like. Thank you Connorsmom for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Love this dish! I did add-on a bit. Sauted two sliced leeks, asparagus spears and field peas with evoo (substituted margarine). Tossed it with all remaining ingredients and topped off with crushed black pepper. Extra healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I have not tried yet but the pumpkin puree part sounds a lot like my recipe for pumpkin soup. I would recommend either making a flour rue first with some butter and adding in pumpkin puree with condensed milk and maybe a little chicken broth to loosen if necesary. I would also balance the pumpkin pie spices with a little dried sage to give it a little savory note. Top with toasted slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this as stated, except for the replacement of chicken broth with veggie broth. I liked the creaminess of the sauce and the parmesan cheese, but it just seemed a little plain overall. I don't even know what I would change. Anyway it was OK. Thanks for the creative recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was delish! I increased recipe to 4 servings, used regular penne, whole milk, doubled spices, added brown sugar. Hubby and daughter didn't care for it as much, but pumpkin pasta is more my thing than theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was wonderful. I loved everything about this recipe. It was the perfect blend of savory and warm, and the pumpkin provided a hint of sweetness to the sauce. Great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I though it was ok. To much like pumpkin pie but with little flavor. My kids didn't even eat it n they eat everything I feed them. Added sausage to give it more flavor then with out. I will def be experimenting with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was really bland. It didn't really taste like anything to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States