Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Easy! Tasty! Both kids loved it and asked for it again sometime. I used almond milk, butter, homemade chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Needed a dinner idea and had bow-tie pasta homemade pumpkin in the freezer, and this recipe came to the rescue! I gave it four stars only because I followed the advice of the others and among other things, started with a rue. Added chopped onions, garlic and fresh ginger along with the other spices in the recipe. Also added some thyme which was great in there. Oh, used half-n-half rather than milk. Lastly I tossed in a handful of kale that was hanging around and VOILA! a simple, cheap & excellent dinner. We'll definitely be putting this one in our meatless-Friday dinner rotation. Thanks much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent! I made it as is and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Well, I had to modify it a bit, as I had no chicken broth. So I used Condensed cream of chicken soup, and a bit of water to equal 3/4 cup of broth + 1/4 cup milk. I was also out of cinnamon. This turned out wonderful, and made a great lunch for me and my 4 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaSmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I made this with some Delicata squash that I steamed, then pureed. I did think it was a bit soupy at first, but I stirred it into the pasta and let it rest for a bit and the soupiness was totally soaked up. I also added some Swiss Chard sauteed with garlic, and would recommend adding garlic to the recipe whether you add the greens or not. Will definitely make this again. Thanks ConnorsMom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this tonight and with a few minor tweaks, mine turned out fabulous! My advice: START WITH A ROUX as others have suggested. I melted some butter, sauteed diced garlic and onion, added some flour, and then whisked in the broth and milk (I used equal parts broth and milk - makes it more creamy). Add pumpkin and bring to a simmer. I didn't want mine to taste like pumpkin pie, so instead of the cloves and cinnamon, I added white pepper and cayenne pepper. These two really rounded out the savory flavor and gave it just a hint of heat. Also, plenty of grated parmesan cheese! I didn't want to stop eating it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this to serve tonight as a side dish to a roasted chicken. I read some of the other reviews and was worried about it being too thin or soupy as they refer to it. I decided to use evaporated milk instead of the skim. I use this in macaroni and cheese always for a creamier thicker result. I was also prepared to cut back on the broth. I made it as written only subbing evaporated milk for the skim and added about 2/3 of the broth. I let it simmer and it kept thickening, and I continued to add the broth. Eventually, I did add all that the recipe called for. As another reviewer suggested, I simmered it for longer, maybe 20 minutes, very slow simmer. With the evaporated milk and the longer simmer time it will get as thick you you want. Just simmer until you like the consistency. Very pleased with that. I doubled this, even though tonight it is for a side dish serving 2. It should be nice for tonight and some for lunch tomorrow, minus what I tasted. :) I used fettuccine, because I like it better. My husband usually prefers penne, but he's not home now and not cooking. Either would be nice. I tried it before adding the cheese, and didn't love it. The cheese needs to be there, even if you just add it to the top. It's a nice change from red sauce or Alfredo and very autumn-like. Thank you Connorsmom for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Love this dish! I did add-on a bit. Sauted two sliced leeks, asparagus spears and field peas with evoo (substituted margarine). Tossed it with all remaining ingredients and topped off with crushed black pepper. Extra healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I have not tried yet but the pumpkin puree part sounds a lot like my recipe for pumpkin soup. I would recommend either making a flour rue first with some butter and adding in pumpkin puree with condensed milk and maybe a little chicken broth to loosen if necesary. I would also balance the pumpkin pie spices with a little dried sage to give it a little savory note. Top with toasted slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States