Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I liked it! It was a good evening meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miramira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
For me it turned out pasty and bland. I tried so hard to get it to be more flavorful that it was almost overspiced on top of the blandness. The bites with plenty of cheese were the best. Started with a roux as advised by others, but once I added the pumpkin it was just a battle to get it to taste like much while trying not to let it get too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was amazing. I combined several other reviewer's ideas such as starting with finely chopped onions sauteed in butter. I used soy milk (because that's what we have) and added a splash of heavy cream that was on hand. I subbed sage for the pie spices, which made the flavor more savory. I didn't make a roux but stirred a tsp of potato starch (we're gluten free) into about 1/4 cup of chicken broth, then added it to the simmering sauce. It didn't get thick but added some body. When I combined the sauce with the brown rice pasta I used, the pasta soon absorbed the sauce and it looked a lot like mac and cheese. I also totally spaced out adding parmesan, but the result was still fantastic. It's probably just as good made as directed but I gotta say, I LOVE a recipe that can be successfully modified. Next time I will sauté asparagus and mushrooms to go with it. Thanks ConnorsMom, I'll be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Have to adjust seasonings but otherwise good for a all meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I also made a roux, which u should do anyway. Half & half instead of milk, real butter, no pie spices, extra cheese, & I added browned Italian sausage & fresh parsley & sage. I'm sure it's good as printed also ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was awesome!! I added a head of cauliflower (chopped) and increased the sauce slightly to accomodate the cauliflower. I omitted the cloves (personal prefrence) and added a little garlic powder. It looks just like mac n cheese and my 5 yr old LOVED it!!! The spices don't make it taste like pumpkin pie at all, its very yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was a great base recipe. I made a few tweaks to it, added chicken, used heavy cream instead of skim milk, sauteed onions instead of onion powder, and added mushrooms and green beans. Super simple to make though, and I will for sure make it again! I'll have to remember dried cranberries, so I can add those in too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Doubled recipe. I thought it was bitter and bland. I am going to add more chicken broth and honey and turn it into soup. I will then add some pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is a great base recipe for pumpkin pasta. I ended up making a roux and adding bouillon cube to it, then adding the pumpkin puree and spices to that until I had the desired flavoring for the sauce. Added sausage and fresh onions instead of onion powder. It was very good and relatively inexpensive to make. In the future, I think I might add some white wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Will definitely make again. My 14 month loved it, she even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States