Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This just wasn't for us. I thought it was far too peppery and without the Parmesan cheese it's just bland. My sauce was also quite soupy. I think it has the potential to be a really good sauce, but I'm not in love with it enough to search it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this treat for my wife who I knew really wouldn't like it 'soupy,' so I changed the recipe in the area of chicken broth, nonfat milk, and margarine. I made a roux of 2 tbsp melted butter, 2 tbsp flour, and 1/2 cup whole milk; cooked it a couple of minutes to thicken, then added the pumpkin and continued heating while mixing it well. Then I added only enough chicken broth to get the consistency I wanted. All of the seasonings were added as suggested in the recipe. I joking call my wife a 'food snob' because she really likes flavorful food, and plain dishes DO NOT get a favorable review. This Pumpkin Pasta was a HIT! She really liked it! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made some alterations and it was creamy and delicious! I sauteed diced onions, garlic and butter in a pan first. Then I added 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/3 cup coconut milk (unflavored/unsweetened) and cooked over medium heat for a few minutes. Next I added the pumpkin and spices (I used about 1/4 teaspoon of each spice and added ground sage too). It was really easy, healthy and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Was ok - nothing special. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe, but I modified it a bit. I used the Roux that Megamuffin said to add and it tasted great. I also added about 1/4 cup of maple syrup and that added a bit of sweetness. Next time I might try some nuts for texture. I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smileysml

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I liked it! It was a good evening meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miramira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
For me it turned out pasty and bland. I tried so hard to get it to be more flavorful that it was almost overspiced on top of the blandness. The bites with plenty of cheese were the best. Started with a roux as advised by others, but once I added the pumpkin it was just a battle to get it to taste like much while trying not to let it get too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was amazing. I combined several other reviewer's ideas such as starting with finely chopped onions sauteed in butter. I used soy milk (because that's what we have) and added a splash of heavy cream that was on hand. I subbed sage for the pie spices, which made the flavor more savory. I didn't make a roux but stirred a tsp of potato starch (we're gluten free) into about 1/4 cup of chicken broth, then added it to the simmering sauce. It didn't get thick but added some body. When I combined the sauce with the brown rice pasta I used, the pasta soon absorbed the sauce and it looked a lot like mac and cheese. I also totally spaced out adding parmesan, but the result was still fantastic. It's probably just as good made as directed but I gotta say, I LOVE a recipe that can be successfully modified. Next time I will sauté asparagus and mushrooms to go with it. Thanks ConnorsMom, I'll be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Have to adjust seasonings but otherwise good for a all meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I also made a roux, which u should do anyway. Half & half instead of milk, real butter, no pie spices, extra cheese, & I added browned Italian sausage & fresh parsley & sage. I'm sure it's good as printed also ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States