Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Even after adding sauteed garlic and onions and adding more spices including sage and cayenne I found this to be blah. I love pumpkin and really wanted to like this. Maybe needs smokey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made a roux first as others have suggested and used the recipe more as a guide instead. To start, I fried some bacon, added a little butter, then onions, garlic, celery and diced bellpeppers. Once the veggies are fragrant, I coated them in flour. I used evaporated milk to start making the roux. I also saved a cup of pasta water in advance and dissolved a boullion cube while it was still hot, then poured it slowly to the roux. And I added grated parmesan and quezo de bola (ball of cheese). Once I got to the consistency I liked, I mixed in the pureed pumpkin. I thinned the sauce down with some water, then seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. I saved some of the celery leaves as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I wanted to like this, but it was just too bland and soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty tasty with the ginger. Would probably make this again when we have alot of pumpkin at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did make the recipe as stated it is VERY bland. I did use 1/4 c evaporated milk instead of nonfat it does make it thicker. A lot of people said it was a thin sauce evaporated milk is the key to the thickness. I added the 1/4 c & kept adding a little at a time till I got the sauce I wanted. I added the parmesian cheese to the cooking sauce. I added 5 tsp of brown sugar. With this tweaking it came out awesome. My daughter is a vegetarian I tried the recipe because of her.She said it was great. I am happy I found this recipe it gives her something else to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Oh yes it me again I am the one who added real instant potato flakes 3/4 cup into the broth at the end of its cook time and more spice and cheese I forgot I also added a big table spoon of tomato paste it was then my recipe and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I'm sorry! I really wanted to like it, but, although edible, it was very bland. Neither my husband or kiddos went back for more and we ended up with a ton of leftovers. I tried to doctor it for another meal but alas, this just isn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Guess I prefer my pumpkin in a dessert or bread. Kids wouldn't eat it, and I don't blame them. Recipe was easy enough to follow and I first made a roux as suggested. Just not for us unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Doubled entire recipe and pretty much quadrupled all the spices, plus added sage to taste and subbed a dry white wine for 1/4 cup of the broth to round out the flavors. Used heavy cream instead of milk and margarine, hey it was going to go bad in my fridge and it tastes AWESOME! Served over Barilla veggie pasta (macaroni, though would work with any pasta) with grilled chicken breast. AMAZING new Fall entrée, with my additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Black

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I started with sauteed leeks finely chopped instead of onion powder and used chicken broth and reduced it down to strengthen its flavour and didn't use the milk and margarine ( who uses margarine any more?) and I put in a dollop of goats cheese instead of parmesan (to make it dairy free) and a a few tbsp of balsamic reduction, now it has a little kick and a deepened flavour.I also added diced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States