Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Changed recipe for simplicity: 2 1/2 Cup Aunt Jemima Original Pancake Mix, 3 TBS brown sugar, 2 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 egg, 1 3/4 cup milk, 2 TBS vegetable oil, 2 TBS vinegar, 1 cup pumpkin puree. These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2048 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I love this recipe; it's a hearty, stick-to-your-ribs breakfast. The following are a couple tips for the best pancakes. Don't thin the batter with more milk. This washes out the pumpkin flavor. Instead, the batter should be portioned out with a 1/4 c. measure onto a moderately hot griddle; then the batter should be spread out slightly using a spoon or a small spatula. This creates the fluffy texture while keeping them hearty. Second, I used a food processor to mix up the wet ingredients. This makes a smoother batter as it breaks down the fiberous pumpkin. The result is a lighter pancake with a more pronounced pumpkin flavor. Third, I used a fresh, good quality pumpkin pie spice rather than measuring out the individual spices; this is an easier preparation, and the flavors were fresher (I get my pumpkin pie spice from a local spice shop that grinds and mixes it weekly for the best quality). Fourth, I got the best results either using whole milk or evaporated milk. Low-fat and fat free milk products just left the flavor dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
We ate Pumpkin pancakes at the restaurant, IHOP, last winter. I have searched for recipes to try and duplicate the pancakes...This recipe took the first place ribbon! Thank you so much! It was very good and my family enjoyed them very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
593 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
As an old pancake/waffle baker I was eager to try this recipe. I followed many suggestions in the reviews (2 eggs, 1 cup whole wheat PASTRY flour) and tweaked it even further. My daughter had just eaten at a trendy breakfast cafe in Ashland, Oregon and claimed these were even better...lighter, etc. Extra suggestions...add fresh nutmeg (1/2 t.), ground cloves (1 t.) increase cinnamon to 1 TABLESPOON and ground ginger to 2 teaspoons, brown sugar to 4 Tablespoons, ditto oil. Also increase leavening to 2 TABLESPOONS ( I use only Rumford's and NO baking soda at all). Finally, mix w. 1 plus cup of milk, let stand to absorb the dries and then add MORE milk to get that perfect pancake batter conistency. Works well as waffles, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
These pancakes are OUT OF THIS WORLD! They're moist and delicious! As always, I used REAL pumpkin instead of the canned stuff (I think it makes a HUGE difference and real pumpkins are so easy to cook--I just cut them in half, scoop out the insides, and then put them face down on a baking sheet at 425 degrees for about an hour. After they cool, the skins come off very easily. Then take the pumpkin and mash it with a potato masher. Just make sure that you use the right kind of pumpkins--sweet ones like New England or Baby Pam. The big ones at the supermarket will not work). Then I put butter REAL maple syrup on the pancakes, but they're so good, you could almost eat them plain! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I used an electric skillet on 300 degrees...if you follow the recipe completely your pancakes will come out great. Adding water or more milk takes away from the flavor. Once you place the batter on the skillet, just spread it out a little with the back of a spoon...that will help thin the pancakes out. Great recipe for picky eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
With a little tweeking, this recipe is fantastic. I've been modifying this recipe for quite some time to perfect it. I thought the pumpkin taste was too weak originally, and it lacked a true "pumpkin recipe flavor" without nutmeg. Also, the cinnamon flavor was not noticeable. Here are my suggestions: 1. Add 1 1/3 cups pumpkin 2. Add 1 Tbsp Cinnamon 3. Add 1/2 tsp nutmeg 4. Delete the allspice, vinegar and ginger Here are my ingredients: 2 cups all-purpose flour 3 tablespoons brown sugar 2 teaspoons baking powder 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon ½ teaspoon nutmeg 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 cups milk 1 1/3 cups pumpkin puree 1 egg 2 tablespoons vegetable oil It makes a nice dense pumpkiny flavor pancake that is fantastic with any decent syrup. I've made it several times and get rave reviews always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
My 2 year old has requested these pancakes on several occassions. For fluffier pancakes I add an extra egg. Most assuredly worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
INCREDIBLE! I like making my own pumpkin puree and this is a great way to use what's left over if the sugar (pie) pumpkin produces more than the 2 cups needed for pies and breads. I didn't have a whole cup of pumpkin so I just scaled the recipe down with great results. I added a bit of milk to the batter to make it easier to pour. TIP: The pancakes will be lighter if you let the batter sit 5 minutes or so before cooking -- that gives the baking powder time to react and start making air bubbles. Absolutely the best pumpkin pancakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Fabulous! I've been eating them all fall and now into the winter. So yummy. I add 1 T sugar and 1 t vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States