Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Really nice taste, I'm going to freeze and use in the toaster for quick healthy breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Amazing! Added a splash of pure vanilla extract and some nutmeg and used almond milk. Perfect for a cool autumn morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe as written. The pancakes were mushy in the middle no matter how long I cooked them. Then I thinned out the batter with more milk and they were still mushy. I ate one anyway and it also could have used more flavoring and salt. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made it exactly as written and my pancakes came out bland and mushy. They never cooked through to a normal pancake texture no matter how long or how low heat I cooked them on; the inside stayed mushy and the outside burned. They tasted of raw pumpkin and the vinegar gave it a tang. Despite so many recipes claiming otherwise, vinegar + milk is NOT a substitute for buttermilk because the two just taste completely different and you can tell in the final product. This recipe is so, so flawed and I definitely will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are delicious pancakes and they even tasted better the longer they sat because the flavors melded and that's not typical with pancakes. I substituted buttermilk for the milk and vinegar and it worked out fine. Delicious pancakes that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We had breakfast for dinner today to mix things up...as I was craving pumpkin pancakes for the past few days and saw this recipe this morning and went out to buy all the ingredients. I could wait until breakfast the next morning to make these. By the way, I practice the alkaline diet, but really wanted pancakes since it is fall and I have a hard time getting my toddlers to eat veggies. So this is a great way to hide the veggies in the pancakes. So I did quite a bit of substituting and my rating is based on the substitute version and I always use organic everything. I replaced buttermilk for the milk, I cooked a pumpkin to make my own pumpkin puree, used homemade apple sauce for the oil, apple cider vinegar for the vinegar, whole wheat flour for the flour (next time I'll try 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup of ground oats), added one extra tbl of brown sugar (next time I'll use coconut sugar, it is the healthy version of sugar), replaced the ginger with pumpkin pie spice, and replaced vanilla extract for the allspice, next time I'll add 1 tbl of fresh lemon juice. This recipe can hide 2 veggie and 1 fruit serving in the pancakes for the kids! hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALZCAB
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
WOW :) These were wonderful! Light and fluffy. Topped them with a maple/cream cheese glaze that I made with some leftover cinnamon roll frosting. Hubby and my picky boys all enjoyed and asked for them again! Will deff make again. Hopefully with fresh roasted pumpkin instead of canned. Can't wait till next time. Photo added :) BTW, my 11y/o says not 5 but 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALZCAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These were great. I did make a couple small changes - I used melted butter instead of oil, 1/4c brown sugar (a little extra) (I like my pancakes buttery and sweet!), and I replaced all the spices with 2t pumpkin pie spice. The batter was thick and makes very thick fluffy moist pancakes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and the pancakes turned out amazing! Made more than enough to freeze allowing my daughter to have pumpkin pancakes for before school during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Amazing! I omitted the vinegar, and changed up the spices to suit my personal tastes. The pumpkin flavor was right on. Topped 'em off with a handful of walnuts and some real maple syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States