Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Good recipe, just needed a few changes for my taste. I made the oatmeal according to the package, not the recipe. I also used water instead of milk. After it was all made, I topped it with brown sugar like I always do. I loved it except I thought it had a little too much cinnamon in it. Next time I think I'll omit the cinnamon sugar and increase the pie spice to half tsp. I'll even add rasins! Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I ran out of milk and used vanilla yogurt and it was still awesome..I also used a bit of brown sugar on the top. It was a VERY filling breakfast, and fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Pumpkin lovers heaven, and healthy, too. With a little experimentation it's perfect for my taste. I use 1 cup of milk for 1/2 cup oatmeal (cook on stovetop) 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves. For sweetness I added a Sweet-n-Low. It's like having dessert for breakfast, and I agree with the other reviewer - extremely filling and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was good, nice for a change.Really different. Had to add a lot of brown sugar for sweetness. Thanks Juloyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
We enjoyed this - added some butter and needed more sweetness. We topped it with honey. Very good. Also, added about 1/3 more milk. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Great with a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I just didn't think they mix well, but thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I liked the idea better than the result. My original notes say 'kind of thick and weird'. I will make it again using more milk, sugar and spice. This really is a good way to add vegetables to breakfast. VERY filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I twekaed this recipe to my taste just a little: I make it one serving at a time the way I normally do: half a cup of oldfashioned oats with one cup of milk, in the microwave. Instead of using pumpkin pie spice, I use the three traditional spices for pumpkin pie: cinnamon, ginger and ground cloves. I don't use cinnamon sugar either, I use crystaline fructose (which I use ion place of sucrose just about everywhere). Its one of my favorite breakfasts-- I started making it at the beginning of the fall semester when the weather started to turn wintery here in Wisconsin, now it's late June and I still by canned pumpkin regularly just so I can fix it. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I loved this recipe. A great change of pace. Will definitely make this more often...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States