Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
As is, it's okay. I added a couple level tablespoons of brown sugar to make it a little sweeter and less pumpkin-intense. After that, I loved it. My kids did not. I floated milk on the top and threw in a handful of raisins, as that's how I grew up always eating my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I almost doubled the amount of pumpkin in this recipe because I love the taste of pumpkin, and it was still not flavorful enough for me. I think this has the potential to be delicious but it could use some tweaking first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This needed more liquid because I like creamy oatmeal. I sprinkled brown sugar on top to sweeten the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
After reading RENEE35's review, I was worried about the raw pumpkin taste. I didn't want to make custard per se, with the egg and all. So, my solution was to make a batch of Libby's "quick pumpkin pudding" with one packet of FF SF vanilla pudding, a can of FF evap milk and a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. Stir in with your prepared oatmeal. Perfection without the calories or the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I think I did something wrong. I did not have cinn sugar, so I did 1/2 tsp sugar and 1/2 tsp cinn. Otherwise followed exactly. Its pretty good but it looks very unappealing. But I am 24 weeks pregnant, so maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you for a great idea!! I made quick cooking oats as I usually do (with water, not milk), added pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice and a drizzle of maple syrup, yummo!! A great change for your fall oatmeal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
It was good - great for pumpkin lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I was looking for something quick and easy in the morning, I have to get up for work @ 4:30am! I used to just skip breakfast but I know that is not good. I tried this because I love pumpkin, but I agree with other reviewers that the "RAW" taste was not for me. I used a can of Libby's Pumpkin Pie mix that was already spiced and added a 1/2 cup to my oatmeal. I also used rolled oats which I prefer over the quick oats, and I just microwaved them for 3 min. It was great! Thanks for the idea, I will definately be making this every morning. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Great recipe. Like others i've modified it for an individual serving. I added .5 cup oats with 1 cup of water and .5 cup of milk, ground cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. Instead of the raisins, I cut a peeled banana in half, put some cinnamon on both sides and grilled it in a pan while the oatmeal cooked for 5 minutes in the microwave. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I like the idea, but we had to add a lot more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States