Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I'm a health food nut, so oatmeal and pumpkin are winners for me. This is a healthy recipe but seriously lacking the wow factor. It was bland, needed maple syrup... alot. Needs something... but it's a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I didn't have any pumpkin pie seasoning so used a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg and pinch of ginger instead (omitted cinnamon sugar). Cooked my oats with water instead of milk and then topped with soy milk. Delicious, nutritious and very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I would give this 5 stars with a few tweaks, but made as written, it's really only a 3 star. It has potential and I will make it again, but with the tweaks. Made as written, it was extremely bland and needed alot more sweetening to make it palatable. I also ended up needing altogether a 1/2 c more milk for the cooking process. After tasting, I added twice the pumpkin pie spice and a tablespoon of maple syrup (for one serving). The texture was typical oatmeal, so I also added a tablespoon of chopped almonds for crunch. This would also be good with steel cut oats, which would need a slightly revised cooking method. This was very tasty in the end and very healthy, so it's going to stay in my recipe box. It's a wonderful idea, so thank you for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
my kiddos inhaled this! I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so i just threw in some nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, and I think that's all....It was like pumpkin pie but for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYMAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Good! A nice way to change up oatmeal. I used brown sugar instead of cinnamon sugar, out of preference. Also added a handful of raisins. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This wasn't sweet enough for me and I couldn't really taste the pumpkin. If I made it again I'd add more sugar and pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious!...with tweeks. I cooked stove top. Used a full cup of water and 1/2 c of milk, since it was already too thick with 3/4c milk before it even got warm. I used the suggestion of microwaved frozen banana, mixed it in with the pumpkin, oats, water/milk, 1/2 tsp. salt, 3 heaping tsp. brown sugar, some cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger (didn't have pumpkin pie spice), and then cooked the whole thing on medium until it was hot and creamy, topping it with chopped walnuts. Just like having creamy pumpkin break, only better for you. Thanks Juloyes for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Nummy for a simple breakfast. Sweet enough for me w cinnamon and allspice and pumpkin (puree, not pie filling), didn't add any sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Made on the stove top. Added cinnamon at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Its good. It really needs salt so i recomend that. I used soy milk so if you cant drink milk its still good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States